Non-supportive people

TripleAxel
on 7/27/18 6:22 pm
VSG on 09/20/18

Hi Lightweights,

I am new to OH so don't have my signature set up yet, but I started at BMI 37, have a surgery date for VSG 9/20, and am both excited and terrified.

There are a lot of people whom I have not told about my upcoming surgery, including my husband's sisters. One of my SILs in particular, when I've mentioned dieting in the past, always said "You look fine; just accept yourself". I will have to tell the SILs eventually, but I'm not going to do it until I'm on the other side of surgery.

How have some of you dealt with people in your life who don't think you need bariatric surgery? I thought about surgery long and hard for over a year, and I know it's the only way to have a chance to be healthy and mobile into the future, but I'm wondering how some of you have dealt with the naysayers.

Thanks!

Asparagus
on 7/30/18 6:44 am

Thankfully I haven't received negative responses. I did get comments from people who said I didn't look big enough for surgery. I just responds thanks but the scale and my doctors disagree.

I would just respond that it's a decision you made for yourself and you want to give yourself the best life possible, whi*****ludes being a healthy weight.

Don't be afraid to stop the conversation if they keep stating their opinion and thoughts. While the have a right to their opinion, you have the right not to listen.

Best of luck

TripleAxel
on 7/30/18 9:03 am
VSG on 09/20/18

Thanks for the advice. I am happy there is a place where I can talk about these things with people that have been there!

Ginnny
on 7/31/18 9:28 am - Ontario, Canada
RNY on 04/11/16