I am a 53 year old female who has two adult children, a girl 33 and a boy 30. After 33 years of marriage I decided that I needed to leave the relationship to take care of me. I married when I was 18 years old so I went from living with my mother to living with my husband and this is the first time I have lived on my own. It's been two years now and I absolutely love it. In the past two years I have learned how to take control of my finances, and of my behaviour. Now it is time for me to take control of my weight.

In my city, in order to be considered for bariatric surgery, your doctor needs to refer. Luckily my doctor was very supportive with my request and she referred me to the Bariatric Medical Institute. For the past year or so I have been going to meet with dieticians, doctors and fitness trainers. I have gone to meetings, exercise classes and support groups. I had already had a psychiatrist so I also spoke with him on a number of issues. Finally I went to Ecuador through a group travel (I had never travelled before) and when I returned I was ready to book my surgery.

I am now on the Optifast diet for three weeks (as is required by my surgeon) and awaiting my surgery for June 14, 2017. I am excited about this as well as prepared. I realize that the surgery is only a tool to help with the work that is coming and I know that exercise and diet are required. I have already budgeted for my gym membership and, because I live alone, have planned meals for the next 6 months.

Now that I've found this website and scanned the forums available, I am looking forward to hearing about your experiences, learning from your comments and blogs and being part of a community that I am proud to belong to.

Onward and upwards (or downwards)

About Me
Surgery Date
May 17, 2017
Member Since

Before & After
rollover to see after photo
8 weeks after surgery

Friends 8

Latest Blog 8