My name is Rick.  I am 48 years old, married , and have 4 adult children (19, 22, 23, and 25).  I was a fat kid who weighed 155 lbs. by age 10.  During my teen years and early 20s I thinned out and participated in sports like wrestling and football at 190 to 200 lbs.  Having a desk job, eating in response to stress and emotional upheavals, and overindulging for the past 25 years has led me to where I am today.  At my initial consult earler this year my BMI was 50.  Since that time, I have been on a dietician supervised low fat, low carb diet and lost 40 lbs.  I am currently awaiting insurance approval for laproscopic RNY surgery.  My wife has been supportive of my decision, but my pre-surgery weight loss success has made her wonder if I shouldn't just keep going and not take the "easy" way out via WLS.  The thing is that I don't have much stress in my life right now and when it comes back, as stress tends to do, I am worried that I will bounce back to an even higher BMI than my all-time high this year.  I have high blood pressure (now medicated) as my only current co-morbidity, but I have been riding the edge of sleep apnea, diabetes, and persistent joint pain for the past few years.  I feel like this is an opportunity for me to set things right or at least on the right track over the long term. 

About Me
Elk River, MN
Location
31.6
BMI
RNY
Surgery
06/18/2008
Surgery Date
Surgeon
Apr 02, 2008
Member Since

Friends 105

Latest Blog 10
3 Month Post
2 Months Out
One Month Post Surgery
2 Weeks PostSurgery
1 Week Post Surgery
Surgery Date!!

×