Elias Ortiz and Company

Bariatric Center
Rating: 4.11111111111 out of 5 with 11 ratings

Elias Ortiz and Company Bariatric Center

11 Reviews for Elias Ortiz and Company
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

Horrible people! Michele and her team are jackals!! After they receive your money and after your surgery they’re no more assistance or complication. I am still going back to back to the ER after my surgery and now I am looking to sue for my health expenses! I do not recommend!

July 1, 2024

Overall
avatar

I do not want to discourage anyone from making a decision to improve your health and lifestyle, but I would use caution with dealing with Elias Ortiz and Co (EOC) operating under RitePitch LLC for your bariatric surgery. Their US team (Michele Riter and the nursing coordinators) are very rude and unprofessional. There are stories of them acting highly unethical and I had my own personal experience with them. They took all of my money and blocked me from communication, I did not get the surgery and they refused a refund. Read the contract carefully. Once they have the money, they owe you nothing. There is no flexibility for nuances, and you will receive their wrath for unethical communication and manipulation to pull a fast one on you. There are a lot of people who have also had great experiences, but be wary of community marketing. After being blocked for canceling my surgery after some unprofessional communication, I had to hire an attorney to get my money back. They are a US-based company with zero consumer rights, which will require a lawyer to get your money back if anything happens out of your control. The bottom of their website states "Elias Ortiz & Company is a scheduling facilitator. We are not healthcare providers. The information contained on this site is for educational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice nor create any physician-patient relationship. We suggest that visitors to this site discuss the information contained here with their own physician."
They have a lot of fake reviews and community ambassadors, so I would look for reviews on platforms like this and non-owned consumer review websites when making a decision on who to go with. Here's a site that I found (when it was too late) with real reviews. https://mexicogastricsleeve.org/elias-ortiz-company/

Oct. 3, 2022, Updated: Oct. 6, 2022

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Dr. Elias Ortiz is an amazing barbaric surgeon. I had my VSG on 2/2/18 amazed with Dr. Ortiz professionalize and the staff of ALM. I had the best experience despite the fact I was worried and had the first time having any kind of surgery. Dr. Ortiz made me feel nothing and not to worry at all. 2 weeks after the surgery and I feel so much better and lighter.

0 of 1 people found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Had VSG 5/26/15. From beginning to end, a very professional experience. Met with both Dr. Ortiz and Dr. Morales before surgery briefly, where they discussed my labs(all good) and answered any questions I had. Surgery went smoothly, and I was visited afterwards by both doctors again to let me know my organs were all healthy and there had been no concerns. I felt completely at ease, and even now can get follow up care/concerns answered by Dr. Ortiz via email or Facebook.

Dr. Ortiz has coordinators on staff at Mi Doctor to assist with any questions or concerns. Surgery day is on "mexican time" and there was an issue with the OR the day of my surgery, which pushed us all back several hours. They kept us well informed during that time as well. He works through A Lighter Me, who facilitated the process extremely well.

I would absolutely recommend Dr. Ortiz and ALM!

Overall
avatar

I was very at peace the day of surgery(09/16/14). I knew whatever happened, I’d made the best decision I could. The risks of the road I had been on outweighed the risks of surgery in my opinion. I needed this tool desperately. I was first on the table that day, as the highest risk patient. Dr Ortiz, Dr Morales, the anesthesiologist and a special doctor they had on hand b/c of my blood disorder all came over to visit and talk to me before I was put under. They had extra blood on standby just incase I needed a transfusion afterwards. I was pretty impressed by all of this. I don’t remember anything else till I was in my room. Then I remember thinking “WALK!” and dammit- I got up and walked! I remember seeing Dr Ortiz in the nurses area and how surprised he was that I was walking already. Then I went back to sleep.

The A Lighter Me team has been terrific- from the top notch surgeons, to the very available coordinators, to the friendly Tijuana drivers and staff. I am very thankful to A Lighter Me for this second chance at life. As of today(13 months out) I'm down 190lbs and feeling fabulous!

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

My wife & I were sleeved by Dr Ortiz 9/16/14. We are very happy with the results and have had no complications. Dr Ortiz is a very skilled surgeon. As long as we use our new tool properly- we lose weight. Our scars are nearly invisible; we've each lost nearly 200lbs and the ALM team is phenomenal with their support. Thank you so much A Lighter Me!

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I received excellent care under Dr. Elias Ortiz and Dr. Oscar Morales from A Lighter Me. The care I received at Mi Hospital was great as well. I would do it again with these surgeons and this company.

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Dr. Elias Ortiz is an amazing bariatric surgeon. When I struggled to lose weight, he has really coached me through it. The A Lighter Me team is caring, compassionate and friendly. They truly care about all of their patients.

2 people found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Excellent pre op, surgical and post op care. The entire team is incredibly dedicated and my results are the proof. My surgery was successful and I feel good.

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

I just had VSG with MD Mariano Covarrubias 2 weeks ago (Dec 5th 2011).
Everything is going great, in addition to pre-surgery care, to surgery and post-surgery.
Very professional, optimistic, and straight + prudent to talk with. Nice Doctor.
I had my surgery in Tijuana, no issues at all, from hospital to care taken. I recommend him for sure!

1 person found this helpful

DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×