Guillermo Alvarez

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 4.97576736672 out of 5 with 1010 ratings

Guillermo Alvarez Bariatric Surgeon MD

Guillermo Alvarez Bariatric Surgeon Picture

15 yr in Bariatrics

15 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

15 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

100% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 11

Max Age of Patient is 75


Brandi Carter Profile Pic
Brandi Carter
Patient Coordinator
Rosie Flores Profile Pic
Rosie Flores
Patient Coordinator
Lourdes Carranza Profile Pic
Lourdes Carranza
Personal Assistant

1010 Reviews for Guillermo Alvarez
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

I traveled to MX in January of 2021 for sleeve surgery with Dr. A. I have never done anything remotely close to putting so much trust in something as I did with this surgeon and his staff. Nervous doesn't really express the fear I had that I was making a huge mistake. I would never have qualified for this in the U.S. as my BMI was not high enough and I had under 60 lbs to lose. Not to mention the huge cost difference as well as finding someone that has as much experience as Dr. A would be impossible.

All I can tell you is, don't let fear prevent you from living your life!

From start to finish this was an exceptional process. They have this process down. You are in great hands and they will coordinate everything! The communication is great, the people, the facility, the information...everything! Let go and take the steps toward reclaiming a healthy life! Trust is hard, but you can trust this!

I went with a friend and we both had the procedure done and served as each others support. Fast forward to April and my friend has lost 52 lbs. and I have lost 30lbs.

What I can tell you about the procedure: it was fast and very little pain. You will be slow for a few days and the over the course of 2-3 weeks you will feel just fine.

The lifestyle: takes some time and adjustment. You eat much less, feel full and even with that, your mind wants to convince you to eat more. Your friends will complain that you don't eat. You still need to make healthy food choices (that's the hardest part). And, you can screw this up by grazing all day long instead of limiting your eating to meals where you get full fast and need to stop. Think long and hard about those things before you commit to this!

Bottom line: I am SO glad I did this. I feel better, look better, am starting to lose my obsession with food, am retraining my brain as I go, and continue to lose every week. I am 25 lb. to my goal and I know I will get there! Dr. A provides a safe, quality, affordable, caring and convenient way to achieve all of these things. I would not have gone anywhere else.

April 12, 2021

Overall
avatar

They made everything so easy and kept in touch and didn’t make me feel like a number.

April 9, 2021

Overall

2 previous reviews. « hide

They made everything so easy and kept in touch and didn’t make me feel like a number.

April 9, 2021

Overall

They made everything so easy and kept in touch and didn’t make me feel like a number.

April 9, 2021

Overall
avatar

I am beyond thankful that I found Dr. A and his team. I am currently 100 days out from the start of my pre-op and 3 months from my actual surgery. In this time I've lost 45 pounds and 37 inches and under 200 pounds. I've gained a whole new appreciation for my body and a new perspective on life. I had been overweight or obese my entire life, always the 'fat' friend. After working in health care for some time I had a wake-up call when a standard biopsy had issues healing and knew that I needed to make a change now while I had the chance. I did not have the co-morbidities needed for insurance to pay for the sleeve in the states nor the time for the endless appointments required to qualify even without insurance. Finding Dr. A was a Godsend. I was able to schedule my surgery at my convinces and the entire process was cheaper than it would have been even if insurance would have paid for it. From the moment I registered Brandi was available to answer any questions or concerns I had. The transportation was seamless. The facility is state-of-the-art and nicer than the hospitals I've worked in. The staff is all extremely supportive and genuinely nice. Dr. A and Brandi both do an amazing job of following up. The support of the community of his patients is extremely helpful as well. If I had the chance to do it over again I would have done it sooner.

April 5, 2021

Overall
avatar

The facility was very clean and state of art! The staff were caring and helpful which was important to me since I went by my self. I was informed of each step as we went the the procedure. Dr. Alvarez was great and his skilled surgical hands had changed my life. The only thing I can think would have helped is a small pillow to hug on the way home.

March 30, 2021

Overall
avatar

I couldn’t be happier with my decision to have Dr. Alvarez perform my surgery. While I thought it would be a great experience, it went beyond my expectations. The staff, hospital and Dr A himself we’re all exceptional and the experience was amazing. As I look back, I wonder why I waited to so long to get this done. I look and feel amazing and I’m still losing weight.

March 27, 2021

Overall
avatar

I had the best hospital experience of my life with Dr. Alvarez and his team of professionals. Caring and compassionate staff who speak fluent English and are attentive to your every need made for a comfortable stay. Nurses answer the call button within seconds and have a cheerful disposition. Rosie goes above and beyond to answer questions quickly and help you have the best visit possible. The transport driver was friendly and a great driver. The facility is state of the art. Dr. Alvarez did a great job on my sleeve and I felt so well taken care of the entire time. It was a great experience!

March 21, 2021

Overall
avatar

Dr Alvarez has saved my life and has saved me endless time and energy, plus money. I don't have to spend time and energy to search for the next diet fad, spend money on diet pills, diet shakes, the next biggest diet gimmick out there. I just follow what Dr. Alvarez crafted for me, with a well balance smaller meals, exercise and LOTS of water and BAM!!!
I am so grateful for everything that Dr A and his team has done for me. It has been like I have been freed from the endless pit of fads. It is breath taking!
Thanks again!

March 17, 2021

Overall
avatar

Dr. Alvarez is a Rock Star among physicians. He is sincere, gifted, nurturing and has a wonderful staff to match his passion for his patients. The trip to Piedras Negras was a breeze. You are in and out in three days to begin your journey to health and happiness. I am so glad I made the decision and thank my American friends for recommending "Dr. A" DO IT!

March 9, 2021

Overall
avatar

This was an amazing experience and Dr. Alvarez made everything so great. From the staff to the hospital I couldn't be more satisfied. I highly recommend Dr. Alvarez to anyone who is interested in Gastric Sleeve surgery. Its so worth it. You are worth it.

March 1, 2021

Overall
avatar

Dr. A and his incredible staff have provided top-notch customer service and medical care from the moment I reached out to Ms. Rosie for my initial queries, my journey to the Endo hospital, to now, 5 weeks post op.
Any question was answered with kindness and efficiency. The medical care is full on 5 star and more. I cannot recommend Dr. A and his amazing hospital enough for your bariatric needs!

Feb. 20, 2021

1 person found this helpful

Overall
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×