Guillermo Alvarez

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 4.98138957816 out of 5 with 1184 ratings

Guillermo Alvarez Bariatric Surgeon MD

Guillermo Alvarez Bariatric Surgeon Picture

18 yr in Bariatrics

18 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

18 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

100% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 11

Max Age of Patient is 75


Brandi Carter Profile Pic
Brandi Carter
Patient Coordinator
Rosie Flores Profile Pic
Rosie Flores
Patient Coordinator
Lourdes Carranza Profile Pic
Lourdes Carranza
Personal Assistant

1184 Reviews for Guillermo Alvarez
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

Dr. A and his staff are the best! I have no regrets at all. They treated me like family. I would recommend Dr. A to anyone and everyone. Best thing i have ever done for myself.

July 12, 2024

Overall
avatar

Great experience!! It started with the patient coordinator Brandi. She was so helpful with all the pre op instructions. She is very knowledgeable about the process. Next was Jesus, who picked us up in San Antonio and drove us to Endo hospital. He was very friendly and helpful. We even stopped halfway to stretch our legs and get a drink. Upon arrival at the hospital we greeted by a compassionate and caring staff. Later that afternoon we got to meet Dr. Alvarez, who is a genuinely caring surgeon with an amazing bedside manner. After talking to him I was totally at ease with my upcoming procedure. Everything went so smoothly, I was up and walking just a few hours after my surgery. I had a little discomfort, but no pain.The next day my wife and I went and got massages and walked around the local market. The facility is top notch, it was so clean and perfectly set up for the patient and their companion. The next morning we were discharged and once again Jesus took us back to San Antonio. Crossing the border was breeze, no issues at all. I came back with my sister 2 months after my surgery to accompany her during hers. I got to experience the whole thing again but from a different perspective. Once again 5 stars all the way around. I am now 3 months post op, CPAP gone, BP meds gone, cholesterol meds gone. Down 55 lbs. Best decision ever, wished I would have known about Dr Alvarez years ago.
Thanks again Dr A and staff!

July 11, 2024

Overall
avatar

I would recommend Dr. A to anyone that is needing gastric sleeve. From the beginning when I was seeking information about the surgery until I was post-op after having the surgery, him & his staff have all been wonderful. I went to his hospital alone to have my surgery and everyone was so wonderful & took care of me so well. They made me feel as if, I were their family that they were caring for. Dr. A is a wonderful surgeon and has a great bedside manner. I would not hesitate to do it all again. I just can't say enough about him & his staff. If anyone is thinking on making this life changing decision, then they should absolutely let Dr. A be the one to help them! He is awesome!!

June 13, 2024

Overall
avatar

Dr. Alvarez and his staff are wonderful and the facility is the best medical facility in which I have ever been treated. My pre-op process was very clearly explained and the pre-op diet was not as difficult as I had feared. Travel was fantastic and I felt safe and protected during the entire process.

The surgery went well and there was mild discomfort, but not what I would ever call pain. My post-op diet was so easy to follow and as the weight came off, the motivation only grew.

I didn’t have complications, but I had some concerns about the healing process and my transition to solid foods. Dr. Alvarez sent a video message within hours. Knowing that he is still with me every step of the way is such a reassurance.

My gastric sleeve is the best tool I have ever had to defeat my obesity, and there is no one I’d trust to give this tool to one of my family members more than Dr. Alvarez.

June 5, 2024

Overall
avatar

There isn’t enough space in this box to describe Dr. Alvarez and his staff. You get the best. Beautiful facilities, very caring staff, very professional. I knew I had made the right decision. If you’re contemplating on having the surgery or not sure about Dr. Alvarez, give him a call and have that one to one consultation. YOU will not regret it.
Thank you Dr. A and your staff.

June 1, 2024

Overall
avatar

I’m 3 months post op today and have zero regrets! Dr. Alvarez and his team are absolutely amazing. The hospital is modern, clean and safe. My husband and I drove crossed the border with no issues or safety concerns. Recovery went smoothly no complications. Dr A checks on you personally to make sure you are doing good. Also checked on my husband he made sure he was comfortable had blankets(husband was not a patient) but he
enjoyed the stay he loved the cafeteria food and was happy with the treatment we got. All in all great experience just wish I would have done it sooner!!
64lbs down so far couldn’t be happier!
Especial thanks to Brandi, Mario, Michelle and the GOAT Dr. Alvarez The best of the best!!

May 16, 2024

Overall
avatar

Life changing! Dr. Alvarez and his staff were absolutely wonderful. I felt safe and taken care of through each step of this surgery’s journey. I’m 3 months postop and have absolutely zero regrets! Thank you!

May 16, 2024

Overall
avatar

My only regret is I wish I had done it sooner! Endobariatric and Dr.Alvarez are absolutely the best! I have a background in healthcare and I was so impressed with the cleanliness and professionalism of everyone at Endobariatric. From the moment you arrive they cater to your every need, accommodations are very comfortable, pre-op procedures are accomplished quickly and before you know it you are recovering in your room with the best staff to make you comfortable. The instructions were very easy to follow every step of the way and my patient coordinator Rosie was an angel! She always quickly answered all of my questions and coordinated throughout the process. Recovery was so much easier than I anticipated. I can't recommend Dr.Alvarez and his team at Endobariatric enough!!

May 3, 2024

Overall
avatar

Dr A and the staff are amazing. The facility is clean, professional and safe. I had my sleeve on Jan 4th 2024 and wow what a life Changning event. Yes i have lost a bunch of weight and i have to make better food choices. You see if i eat bread or carbs i get stomach pain so all those bad foods that made me gain weight don't really nourish my body. With my new stomach only being 5-6 oz capacity i have to focus on getting the right protein and minerals and vitamins.
If not i just don't have the energy for the day. I am amazed that i don't get hungry and i spend way less time eating.
Lots of my "comfort foods" cause belly cramps and are just not good for me, so it is easier to stay away from. This was the life change that i needed to really change my life and loose the weight and get health by making better choices. Its not a fad diet. I find that drinking the correct amount of water is the key to dropping pounds. I don't have food cravings and i have to eat all my old fav's but my taste buds and stomach cramps and or pains have been guiding me on what to stay away from. This may change over time. The teaching in Dr A's book has been a big help he also has YouTube videos on all kinds of subjects surrounding this topic. I would highly recommend Dr A. The amount of my friends who complement me and ask ? What did you do? is amazing.
Thank you Dr A. and your staff

April 3, 2024

Overall
avatar

I’ve waited seven months to write this review, I wanted to give this review the time it deserved. I had my sleeve surgery on 8/24/23 with Dr. Alvarez and his amazing team. To say this is the best hospital experience I’ve had in my 59 years, is saying a lot! It was amazing from the first step on the shuttle that picked us up! The entire staff and the facility are on a level that’s beyond nice, it’s posh! The staff and Dr. A made us all so comfortable and everything went as smoothly as it could have. I would highly recommend having this surgery at the Endo Hospital, with the skilled hands of Dr. A and his team! It’s changed my life in amazing ways and I’m excited to keep losing and getting healthier! I only have one regret, that I didn’t have this surgery sooner!

March 23, 2024

Overall
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×