Jeffrey T. Landers

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 5.0 out of 5 with 23 ratings

Jeffrey T. Landers Bariatric Surgeon MD, FACS, FASMBS

Jeffrey T. Landers Bariatric Surgeon Picture

18 yr Experience

23 yr in Bariatrics

23 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

19 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

100% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 18

Max Age of Patient is N/A


Adjustable Gastric Band

Biliopancreatic Diversion with Duodenal Switch

Revision

Roux-en-Y

Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy


23 Reviews for Jeffrey T. Landers
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

He is amazing. I learned so much at his surgery seminar and it was a huge wake up call for me learning about the risks of obesity. He walks you through the entire process. He keeps up with you after surgery to make sure you are successful. I’d recommend him again and again!

Aug. 5, 2020

Overall
avatar

I had my gastric bypass surgery in January. I love Dr. Landers and his staff. They made me feel very comfortable about everything and were very informative about everything to expect before, during, and after the surgery. I'm very excited, It's been a little over 5 months and I've lost over 50 pounds so far. I'm feeling really good except for nausea but I take medication and it helps.

I haven't taken another picture yet but will soon and will post.

If you are thinking about having weight loss surgery I highly recommend Dr. Landers.

July 9, 2020

Overall
avatar

After my stroke in 2012 the weight kept coming, I could stop it then it came back. I worked with my Primary Care and we got to the point to go for a referral to Dr. Landers. That's where is started, had a seminar with several others looking for some help and I realized, this could really be an option. Over the next couple of weeks I work with Prya and Robin with the paperwork and my first "meeting" giving me the once over and asking me if I had any questions....Deer in the headlights I had em then they were gone. I was yup let's do this.

Had to go hop through the hoops of the insurance companies and their rules and finally got the ball going, blood, endo, then waiting That is the hard part. I called to see if my insurance had finished their thing and they did. Robin said he has on opening on Monday (my call to her was on a thursday).

Surgery, was done and all went as expected, Dr. Landers and his staff along with hospital staff are awesome. And Dr. Landers does a pretty good Schwarzenegger impersonation.

Today 6-18-2020 was my 100 day check up. Im at 166 but more importantly I had to get some new clothes as everything else was too big.

My depression is still here and that is my daily strife, but the burden of the weight is lifting off.
Can't run today due to physical challenges, but there's next year and I have time to prepare.

June 18, 2020

Overall
avatar

When I looked into bariatric surgery back in 2017, I looked at the requirements for my insurance to cover me and gave up pursuing this option as the requirements were too challenging and intimidating.

Come 2019, my type 2 diabetes was getting worse (a1c was over 10), my primary care physician stated we needed to ramp up my Metformin. My GERD was getting worse too. I mentioned to my PCP that I heard gastric bypass has an 80% of placing my diabetes into remission and asked if that was a viable option. He said yes and that Valley Medical Center now has a bariatric program, he referred me to Dr Landers who leads this program. I went to the class he provides and found out about the issues going on with my body and that this is indeed a viable way of turning around my diabetes. I mentioned the concerns I had about insurance covering the procedure and he told me they can help me out to go through this process.

Why did I mention all of this?

Having bariatric surgery is not just the surgeon placing you on the surgical table, performing the surgery and leaving it for you to figure out the rest....there is a team that the doctors uses to change your lifestyle. Dr Landers and his team are awesome! On my first visit, Dr Landers covered all my questions and concerns and found out this would be a good way for me to go, he then had me meet with Prya and Robin to go over the insurance requirements. They both explained what I had to do and they set up the appointments so that I would be covered......this was like hitting the "EASY" button to get this all done, I just followed their guidance. My initial weigh in was 242 lbs, a1c over 10 and blood pressure was 140/90.

After following their guidance (which took about 3 months - depends on your insurance requirements), I was approved for my surgery and had it on 3/9/20, my weigh in prior to surgery was 239. My procedure went very well and Dr Landers took great care of me, he visited me often and kept tabs on me all the way through my recovery (just a fyi...he's pretty funny too). He and his team called me at home to ensure I was doing well post surgery.

I am writing this review 3 months later...I've lost 50 pounds since my initial weigh in (now 192), my blood pressure is 90/60 and my morning fasting blood sugars are between 95-110 every morning WITHOUT taking any Metformin, I haven't taken anything since my surgery related for my diabetes and feel great. I consider the surgery a complete success so I give Dr Landers a 5* rating for the surgery and his bedside manner.... I give his team 5* for getting me through the insurance process and being supportive.

After the surgery, I did discover that gastric bypass is mainly a women's surgery as 80% have it while only 20% of us men do. Speaking to my fellow men, if you have type 2 diabetes and it's getting worse, don't push this option away and think you'll tough it through. I tried for 12 years and had my peaks a valleys.....this is a viable option you should consider and I can't recommend Dr Landers highly enough. Diabetes is a nasty disease which could result in blindness and/or possible limb amputations, this surgery is a better solution to increase your quality of life...now and down the road.

For all, if you're on the fence.....don't be. If you're intimidated by the process of being approved by insurance.....don't be. Get yourself healthier and have a better quality of life.

I promise you won't regret going through Dr Landers and his team. My wife will be having surgery with Dr Landers next month for a RnY as well as she's seen the great care I've received as well as the great results.

Follow up:

8/28/20 - Just saw my blood work today: my A1C is 5.6 (A1C was over 10 pre-surgery), triglycerides were at 187 ( a little high but it was over 700 pre-surgery)......no diabetic meds or cholesterol medications have been taken since surgery.

I've lost weight, blood pressure down and my co-morbitities are now normal without medication....I'm thrilled and am calling this a success!

June 17, 2020, Updated: Aug. 28, 2020

Overall
avatar

Dr Landers and his office staff are the best. He not only restarted our hospitals bariatrics program but, he also advocated with our insurance program, to increase our coverage. I had my laparoscopic Roux n y, in september of 2019 and I could not be happier with my results.

March 25, 2020

Overall
avatar

I feel so blessed to have had Dr. Landers and the bariatric team at Overlake Hospital to work with through my weight loss journey. Dr. Landers has an incredible bedside manner and so easy to talk to. He demonstrates his compassion and dedication to the needs of his bariatric patients, making one feel at ease and secure at placing themself in his very capable hands. He will always be my angel who gave me my second chance. The entire staff at the bariatric clinic is awesome in the way they provide top notch services for their patients from all the preliminary testing, education, and information to the way they continue to followup with you after surgery. This team is dedicated to helping you achieve success and I especially appreciate that they are always accessible and ready to help whenever you might need them. I believe I had the best of the best for my WLS and am so thankful for each and every one of them.

The important thing to remember is that this is NOT a magic cure. The staff is always there for support and encouragement but you alone are responsible to do your part to insure your success. If you are not committed to making lifestyle changes and being healthy, then this is not for you. I've been given the gift of a second chance and I have no intention of ever going backwards. God bless you Dr. Landers and the entire bariatric team....you are my heros!

Sept. 22, 2018

Overall
avatar

great surgeon. PA staff a little harder to deal with. The traffic to Bellvue SUCKS

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

It couldn't have gone better. Dr Landers was very informative and very down to earth and kind of adorable, I must add. ;) ha ha
From the beginning it was such an easy process. I was approved by Group Health and Medicare at first request. If it wasn't for my issue with quitting smoking I would have had the surgery a year ago. Group Health's process is well established and made the entire process very easy. I was very confident with my decisions because all of my questions were answered before I had to ask them. The communication through email was very convenient and sped up the process in my opinion. I had less office visits because of it, which meant less co pays too!
The social worker was amazing, she found me financial aid programs that made the process a lot more affordable.
The surgery went exactly as planned and the hospital staff took great care of me. I couldn't be happier.

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Well Dr. Landers is a great guy and a real nice person to have as your WLS. He is like me a kind of nit picker and pays special attention to even small details. He communicates very well and takes the time to explain exactly what he is going to do and why he is doing it. He has a great sense of humor and pleasant personality. Your confidence will be assured after a meeting with him, he obviously knows what he is doing. I would highly recommend him as he removed my gal bladder and did RNY on me 5/2012.

3 people found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Hi Dr landers ,
How are you?this is Tasha from baby clothing store Bellevue ,I'd like to talk about some details with you.send me email please at [email protected]
Thank you .
See you

1 of 3 people found this helpful

DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×