Mahbod Mark Paya

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 5.0 out of 5 with 38 ratings

Mahbod Mark Paya Bariatric Surgeon M.D.

5 yr Experience

5 yr in Bariatrics

5 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

5 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

90% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is By case

Max Age of Patient is By case


SurgiThin Profile Pic
SurgiThin
Bariatric Center

38 Reviews for Mahbod Mark Paya
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

Office said it was mandatory I ONLY use a certain psychologist for the psych evaluation prior to surgery because West Hills only allows the work of this person, which I figured was not true. The cost was $500 for a 15 minute call. She does not accept insurance. I called my Blue Cross rep, who said, it was outrageous. The psych test can be done by a qualified person for this type of evaluation. I was actually billed for a surgery that was NOT performed to the tune of $11K. I'm not sure if it is Lucy the office manager doing this or it's coming from the doctor, but as they say, "The fish stinks from the head". Needless to say, I never had the surgery done here, I went somewhere else.

Sept. 22, 2011

1 person found this helpful

avatar

I had a fantastic experience with Dr. Paya. He was very nice, and wanted to make sure I knew everything I needed to know about the process.

His office is great. Christie and Crystal are in the office, and I was super impressed when I came in for my second time, and without even looking at anything, Crystal said, "Hi Tarin!" She knew who I was right away. They are both really nice girls.

I met with the nutritionist in the office who went over everything I needed to know about eating and my vitamins, and showed me examples of what I could have. Christie did the same thing a couple of days before surgery, showing me what my private room would look like and providing me with lots of paperwork for me to read about what to expect.

The surgery was easy, I went in to change into my gown, I waited a little while on my bed, and they came to roll me into the surgery room. The anesthesiologist was nice and funny, and they took great care of me. I went to sleep and I woke up about 2 or 3 hours later. I never felt any pain.

I saw Dr. Paya about 3 times in the hospital, and then saw him one more time 2 weeks later. (Next schedule is in 3 months).

The only "negative" (and not that negative) thing I have to say is that although I think Dr. Paya is wonderful, I do think he is a bit quick because he is so busy. I would like to have spend a little more time with him. But other than that, it was a great experience.

May 22, 2010

1 person found this helpful

avatar

THE BEST SURGEON!!! WHAT CAN I SAY! HE GAVE ME MY LIFE BACK. SURGERY WENT WELL. NO COMPLICATIONS. FELT GREAT AND HEALING WAS QUICK. THE STAFF IS SUPER SUPPORTIVE AND THEY FEEL LIKE FAMILY. THEY GIVE YOU AS MUCH TIME AS YOU NEED. THEY GIVE YOU ALL THE INFO YOU WILL EVER NEED BEFORE, DURING AND FOLLOWING SURGERY! DR PAYA IS THE BEST! I REFER DR PAYA TO FRIENDS AND ANYONE WHO SEEKS THE BEST!! I ONLY WISH HE DIDN'T SPREAD HIMSELF AROUND SO MUCH AND WAS MORE AVAILABLE FOR FOLLOWUP APPTS. (ONLY AVAILABLE ON TUESDAY MORNINGS IN OUR OFFICE). Has a great support group at Northridge Hospital first Thursdays of the month at 7 P.M.

Feb. 17, 2010

1 person found this helpful

avatar

very nice guy, one of the down to earth doctors, very friendly and above all supportive and communicative to his patients.

His office staff is also very friendly as they did everything they could to speed me through their process because I had already began the process with another doctor that insurance ended up declining last minute.

Dec. 24, 2009

1 person found this helpful

avatar

I have met with Dr. Paya two times, once for the consultation, and again for the seminar. I was immediately put at ease by his manner. He was very professional and caring at the same time. He explained the procedure, and let me know that he can help me.rnrnHe got my insurance to approve it, and before I knew it, I was called to schedule a surgery date.rnrnMy impression of Dr. Paya did not change. I still think he is amazingly professional and compassionate. His office staff is great, and all are very supportive. There is a structured aftercare program and support group at West Hills Hospital.rnrnHis surgical competence is at least equal to his bedside manner. He is a very skilled, wonderful surgeon. He also performed a hernia repair and gall bladder removal surgery on me with the same level of care that I received with my RNY. I would use him again, and would recommend him to anyone without reservation.rnrnMy only complaint is that the wait to see him at the scheduled appointment time is often very long, sometimes an hour or more.

Dec. 15, 2009

1 person found this helpful

avatar

My Dr.was/is great. He always takes time to talk to me and answer all my questions, his staff is just as great. No problems here.

Nov. 5, 2009

1 person found this helpful

avatar

My first impression of Dr. Paya - I'm pleased I found him, I am excited about and look forward to my journey.

Sept. 3, 2009

1 person found this helpful

avatar

I was originally sechuled for Dr. Quillici - but when I called for my consultation appointment and it was going to be 3 months away, I called my referral office to see if I could change my Surgeon to Dr. Paya. I am so glad that I did, I had my surgery with Dr.Paya the day before I was suppose to have my consultation with Dr. Quillici.rn My First Impression of Dr. Paya and his staff was comforting, sincere and willing to help in any way. I am 6 months post op and had my 6 mo. check up. I have lost 74 lbs. and Dr. Paya, Crystal, Shelley and Stephanie were so encouraging and excited for me on my progress. I would recommend Dr. Paya and his staff to everyone I come across who is considering surgery (and already have). The one thing that really stands out to me is the sincere caring and individual attention you receive with Dr. Paya and his staff, they make you feel like one of the family (no stone cold bedside manner, or just a number here)

Dec. 12, 2008

1 person found this helpful

avatar

He was confident in what he was doing, I am 5 days Post Op and so far no my impression is the same. The office staff was helpful did answer my questions and would come back with an answer no less than 24hrs. Dr. Paya and his staffs priority is definitely Pre and Post Op there is a team of nutritionist and nurses that do make sure you understand after care. Dr. Paya was upfront about any complications and did give me statistics I also did my own research on the possibility of the complications. Overall I have had nothing but great things to say about Dr. Paya and the Northridge hospital team.

Nov. 9, 2008

1 person found this helpful

avatar

Dr.Paya is great. He's very experienced and knowledgable. He made me feel real comfortable about having the RNY and his staff is excellent. Crystal and Shelley were sooo nice they made the scheduling very simple and made sure that I was aware of what to expect and were there to answer any questions or concerns. I was in the hospital for almost 4 days due to pain level, but Dr.Paya made his rounds to make sure I was ok. I really appreciate having Dr.Paya as my surgeon, his surgical competence and bedside manner are both great.

Sept. 30, 2008

1 person found this helpful

DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×