Rodolfo Wilhelmy

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 4.95833333333 out of 5 with 95 ratings

Rodolfo Wilhelmy Bariatric Surgeon MD, FACS

32 yr Experience

21 yr in Bariatrics

23 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

21 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

90% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 16

Max Age of Patient is 70


Biliopancreatic Diversion

Biliopancreatic Diversion with Duodenal Switch

Duodenal Switch

Revision

Roux-en-Y

Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy


Edgar Campos Profile Pic
Edgar Campos
Clinical Bariatric Doctor and Nutritionist
David Beltran Profile Pic
David Beltran
Bariatric Surgeon
Alberto Aceves Profile Pic
Alberto Aceves
M.D., F.A.C.S.

95 Reviews for Rodolfo Wilhelmy
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

RESLEEVED:
On December 10, 2020, I was RESLEEVED and had a HIATAL HERNIA fixed with Dr. Wilhelmy at the Mexicali Bariatric Centre (MBC). My experience with Dr. Wilhelmy was FANTASTIC.

HISTORY:
I had a vsg in January of 2014 and enjoyed being 150-156lb for about 5 years. By year 6 post-op, I noticed that the pounds were creeping on, slowly but surely, and they coincided with a laxity of restriction. It was obvious my restriction was barely there any more and I weighed 20lb more by year 6.5 post-op. I also noticed a change in my ability to swallow. I noticed a difference from all the years before, which was that sometimes food would get "stuck" a little and I felt pressure. It wasn't a huge problem, it was just a little thing that I noticed. But, even so, I decided to get resleeved in order to nip all of it in the bud: my weight gain and a possible hiatal hernia. And, I chose a resleeve because my new life with my sleeve had been so smooth. I wasn't interested in more invasive surgeries nor rearranging my insides. I just wanted a "tune-up".

APPOINTMENT FOR RESLEEVE:
I emailed Nina at MBC. She answered all my questions and asked me how much of a sandwich I could eat. I tested it out, and it turns out I was able to eat an entire sandwich (white bread, turkey, mayo, lettuce) in one sitting. She gave me the go-ahead, and I made an appointment to be resleeved with Dr. Wilhelmy.

PRE-OP RESLEEVE:
I was picked up at my hotel in San Diego and driven across the border to the hospital. Dr. Campos (he's also sleeved!) was there to greet me upon arrival, do some blood tests and a barium swallow. Dr. Campos suspected I had a hiatal hernia, and the barium swallow confirmed it. It was also pointed out that my stomach was bulging on the lower end. That would be fixed, too. I met with Dr. Wilhelmy (he's also sleeved!) and he was sweet and kind and answered all of my questions. I felt ready for the surgery, no anxiety or fear.

POST-OP RESLEEVE:
The surgery happened, I woke up groggy but fine. I was tired, but no pain. Dr. Wilhelmy came to see me to say everything went well. Dr. Campos checked up on me. The nurses checked up on me. I was constantly being looked after in every way. And had no problem with anything. No gerd, no pain, no nothing. I had a great experience with no issues and felt like I was in very experienced and caring hands. I went home and went through the different food stages, about 1.5 weeks for each, but couldn't eat steak until recently.

3-MONTHS POST-OP:
I've been back home now for 3 months. I have no problem swallowing and no pressure, which makes me very happy. In terms of my restriction, it has not returned to how it was after my vsg. But, it is more than what I had in year 6.5 post-op. For the purposes of conveying as clearly as possible how much I can eat, I made pasta today -- something that I rarely eat because it's not my favorite food and it's not a food one should eat very often; but, visually it's helpful and because pasta is heavy, you will get the idea better. On an empty stomach, I can eat a salad plate of rigatoni with basil pesto (basil, olive oil, pine nuts), parmesan cheese and salt in one sitting. And I'm full and content, not bursting. And FYI, my go-to lunch every day, on an empty stomach is a salad plate of lettuce, cucumbers, feta cheese, olive oil, half a can of tuna and a hardboiled egg in one sitting.

RESLEEVE RESULTS:
In these 3-months post-op resleeve, I've lost about 20lb. I will say that the weight loss is slow and depends 100% on my food choices. I get in about 32-40 ounces of water every day. I have not been exercising, except for long walks. But, I will bump up my exercise very soon.

THOUGHTS:
You can't go wrong with a surgeon who has had the surgery you're getting. He has the technical expertise and the practical and emotional experience. He knows what you're going through and how you feel. How many doctors do you know who are just book smart and ignore your feelings and your experience? I avoid those kinds of doctors and will always head for the Dr. Wilhelmy's of the world. I recommend Dr. Wilhelmy 100%!

March 19, 2021

Overall
avatar

I had sadi surgery with Dr. Wilhelmy in July 2020. I started at 400 lbs and I'm 6'1". In the 6 months since I have lost 160 lbs without much effort and essentially zero complications. But it's not just the weight loss that drives me to write this review. The standard of care both Dr. Wilhelmy and the entire staff showed towards me was nothing less than remarkable. The accomodations at the hotel and the hospital was far cleaner and nicer than the lap band surgery I had in the U.S. I would reccomend my mother to this surgeon, and to me, that's the highest praise I can give. I felt completely taken care of from the moment my driver picked me up to the moment he dropped me off. And any time I had a question post surgery when I was home someone answered me immedeatly. I wouldn't even consider another surgeon, he put me at ease before surgery. His skill as a surgeon became apparent when he had to deal with my hernias, my lap band with excessive scar tissue, and my blood oxygen plummeting(this happened during my lap band surgery as well). This surgeon saved my life, I am forever in his debt. It's like Inigo Montoya in princess bride except instead of revenge it's gratitude. Feel free to message me with any questions!

Jan. 28, 2021

Overall
avatar

I had my DS done by Dr. Rodolfo Wilhemy in December 2018. I think my surgery was a success! I weighed 250 the morning of surgery and now in December 2020 weigh 147. I had zero surgical complications--my problems post-surgery were from a bad H. Pylori infection that I'd had dormant for years. My primary care doctor is proud of me and my good results! My blood pressure is now good, my cholesterol is now good, my liver function is now good! Dr Wilhelmy had a nice bedside manner, as did the other doctors I dealt with at the hospital. The facility itself was clean and efficient. The nurse who did my IV was great. I also liked how the facility gave me a sleeping pill there every night, and no real need for pain pills/narcotics after surgery.

Dec. 2, 2020

Overall
avatar

The Dr. Was great! The hospital and staff were great! Of there were 10 stars to give I would. I was scared going into the surgery, Dr. Wilhelmy showed me "his" sleeve scars and said it was the best thing he ever did and it would be for me to. Very comforting. And he was right, I have lost over 70 pounds and have never felt better in my life. This is a life altering surgery, and the hospital, staff and Dr. were all wonderful and treated me with the respect and dignity that I did not even have for myself. I am forever grateful for all of them. My life began again (at 58) and just like Dr. Wilhelmy, I look at that surgery, that day as the day that changed my life forever in the most positive way possible.

Thank you to the Dr. and has staff for the best day of my life... So far...

June 16, 2020

Overall
avatar

Hi, my names Erika I had my surgery 1/28/20 and its been the best decision I've ever made. The staff at Mexicali Bariatrics was were helpful and understanding! Dr. Wilhelmy was attentive and stopped in and checked on me daily!

Feb. 12, 2020

Overall
avatar

I had my Gastric sleeve surgery in October 2019. It went well with no complications. Dr Wilhelmy was reassuring and informative. The hospital and clinic staff were also helpful and caring. I have lost 70 lbs and am well on my way towards my goal of 150lbs. This is the best thing I ever could have done for myself. Thank you Dr Wilhelmy and everyone at the Mexicali Bariatric Center.

Feb. 11, 2020

Overall
avatar

I had VSG surgery 11/2019. Everything was perfect. Dr. Wilhelmy was very personable with an excellent bedside manner. The facility was very clean. The nurses were extremely nice. Since surgery, I have lost a total of 69 pounds. I highly recommend Dr. Wilhelmy!

Feb. 10, 2020

Overall
avatar

In 2008 I had lab band surgery at Mexicali Bariatric. I was having issues with not losing all my weight and having severe acid reflux. After a wonderful helpful consultation with the staff at Mexicali Bariatric they advised having revision surgery! November 18, 2019 I had surgery with Dr. Wilhelmy to remove the lap band and get a gastric sleeve! Now I've lost 20 lbs and within 7 pounds of my goal weight of 125 lbs and most of all I feel great and haven't had a bit of acid reflux! My daughter is saving up to have the same procedure done next year.

Feb. 7, 2020

Overall
avatar

My surgery was 1/24/20 and I’m already down 20lbs. My only regret was that I didn’t do the procedure sooner. Dr. Wilhelmy and staff were incredible and I was extremely impressed. I cannot wait to see what my results will be in the next upcoming months.

Feb. 7, 2020

Overall
avatar

Had a DS with Dr Wilhelmy at Mexicali Bariatric Center (Almater hospital) on December 18, 2018. Dr wilhelmy, Beltran, and Campos checked on me every day after my Surgery. I have had no surgical complications and am, as of this writing (July 31, 2019) down 100 pounds. Dr wilhelmy was friendly and willing to answer questions. The staff at Almater hospital were almost universally wonderful.

July 31, 2019

Overall
DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×