How do I know if it is a whey protein allergy?

Shana16
on 10/5/11 4:01 pm - Las Vegas, NV
How do I know if I could be allergic to whey protein?  After drinking it I get hot, sweaty, runny nose and sometimes diarrhea. I have been drinking shakes for 6 months now and in the last 2 weeks I have started to feel this way after 20 minutes of drinking them.  I use milk with them, I drink milk and do not have any problems with it. On the average I will drink about 1/8 of a cup here and there of milk but when I do drink 8oz or more of milk I will get hot and sweaty then too. I do not get gassy or bloated. Could it be whey allergy or could it be lactose that is causing this.  Is there a test that can be done?  Do you know of some soy protein powders out there? Does Vita-lady have any? Thanks for the help
 LIVE HOPE DREAM

Shana

poet_kelly
on 10/5/11 4:07 pm - OH
If it happens when you drink a glass of plain milk, then it's probably a reaction to the lactose.  It sounds almost like dumping, more than lactose intolerance.  Lactose is a sugar, it's just one that not many people dump on.  Whey isolate protein powder is actually lactose free.  So I would try mixing that with water or soy milk instead of regular milk and see if you have a reaction to that.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Carol S.
on 10/6/11 12:04 am - Milwaukee, WI
 You can do one of two things.  You can switch to Almond milk (unless you have an allergy to that) and see if that helps.  Or, you can find a different type of protein and see if that helps.  When I get worried about being intollerant to something I eliminate it and see what happens.  It's the cheapest "treatment" I've found.

Good luck.
Carol