Who Are You??? (Get to Know You)

Panda1
on 8/30/08 9:08 am - Scottsdale, AZ
I am glad to read some of the stories of the people here. I am 47, married with two kids, 12 and 16. The sixteen year old is really trying our patience to say the least. He is driving me crazy too! I have always had a tendancy towards gainning weight, did weigh****chers when I gained 40 pounds. Then after two kids, I lost the weight and got down to an ideal weight each time. Then, tragedy struck and some bad things happened, and I guess I never thought twice that all those bowls of cereal and anxiety eating would catch up to me. I am 5'6" and started my journey at 223 pounds. I tried all sorts of plans and diets.
I got a Realize band Feb. 28th of this year. I am so envious of all you RNY's for losing so quickly, but my loss is slow and steady, so that will have to be good enough. To date I have lost 27 pounds, and am in onderland!! Yeah.
I work as a nurse and squeeze excerscise in as much as I can. My goal is to get back to 140, which will look pretty darned good!
Lady Lithia
on 8/31/08 1:31 am
Panda, one thing I love is that there are so many different weight-loss-surgery options... each can choose the one that is most right for lifestyle and future plans. What's funny is that I feel like I am losing slowly most of the time.... but then when I look at the totals, I'm shocked. I'm three pounds away from my 50% EWL point, and it feels darn good. If I ignore all the hanging skin, I actually am starting to see a sexy thin woman emerging!

Nice also to meet another "local" ... I considered Blackstone but the waiting time for her would not fit in with my needs, and Dr. J. had a very good reputation too.

I think the most notable difference for me is how it has altered my own job performance. I prefer to stand rather than sit, and I'm more interactive with my students now than ever before. (I teach high school math)

~Lady Lithia~ 200 lbs lost! 
March 9, 2011 - Coccygectomy!