Recent Posts

Ksdb8mama
on 7/18/10 10:55 pm - Marysville, KS
Topic: RE: Yoooohoooo! Any June 2010 surgery dates?
Hi!  I had gastric bypass on June 4 in Kansas.  How did you get along?  I have lost 43 lbs so far and feeling pretty good.  I still cannot tolerate anything w/big chunks--even soups.  I do throw back stuff if it's wrong.  I guess my pouch is pretty sensitive.  I am losing weight, feeling good.  My biggest hassle is getting in enough protein each day.  How about you?  I'm also a teacher, whih is why I waited for June for my surgery.
Ksdb8mama    
Ksdb8mama
on 7/18/10 10:50 pm - Marysville, KS
Topic: RE: Calories
My doctor told me not to worry about calorie count as much as staying hydrated while i was prepping for the surgery.  She also wanted me to avoid fats as much as possible, so the liver would shrink to make the surgery easier.  I was on a diabetic liquid diet, so i didn't get any sugar.  I did as much broth as I could--but i had to make my own--add some veggies to the purchased broth and let it simmer.  I ate lots of jello and sugar free pudding, etc.  I didn't have any protein shakes at that point.  I have been using the new lo-carb Slim Fast since I've been travelling--20 g protein and only 6 carbs.
Ksdb8mama    
tiffer4949
on 7/8/10 11:37 am - st cloud , FL
Topic: RE: GTube
also about the g-tube the 1st few times i drained it i was getting a signifigant amount and it was all kinds of colors but now i only get about the oz that i put in it to clean it and it is a clear color with a little bit of a blackish tint, i have not used it for meds or anything just to drain and clean it. but it is definatly the most uncomfortable thing about the surgery now that all my other issues have kinda faded away so i cant wait till the day i get it removed.

Tootles Tiffer

tiffer4949
on 7/8/10 11:14 am - st cloud , FL
Topic: RE: GTube