insurance problems

lmayes58
on 5/2/08 11:19 am - paris, TX
I have been to a seminar at Southwest Medical In Dallas. They told us to contact our insurance to see if our particular policy covers what their medical policy says they do. i have BCBS of Illinois. They have a medical policy for gastric bypass. i have to see my PCP monthly, for 6 mo. and provide documentation of obesity for last 5 yrs. Also, have psych eval and see dietitian. I have been doing this for the last 2 months. i finally got around to calling BCBS today. They told me that, yes, my policy covers WLS, but they exempt certain codes and obesity and morbid obesity are exempted. Has anyone had this happen. I am so afraid that this will mean no coverage. I have read that denial can be overturned but not an exemption.
ritame
on 5/2/08 1:25 pm
Hi Lana, I'm not familiar with BCBS, I have Medicare so unfortunately I can't help.. I just wanted to say hang in there.. it's been a very long process for me to get a surgery date. Don't give up and get down on yourself.. Keep on keeping on girl! I'll keep you in my prayers and best wishes for you!
(deactivated member)
on 5/2/08 1:54 pm - WV
Hey Lana, So did they say you would be exempt or just obesity/morbid obesity? I'm taking it they only approve the Super Obese? I really hope you get it worked out. I have Tricare and I was approved via my military Dr. . .that's all really my insurance needs is my Dr to say its medically necessary and they'll approve it. I wanted to wish you all the luck in the world though and let u know to hang in there. Hopefully they'll come around and you'll get an approval. Lots of love and you'll be in my thoughts and prayers!!
Jane H.
on 5/2/08 8:54 pm - WA