Health Insurance

Jackie717
on 5/18/11 3:05 am
Hi Peeps,
I don't know if this has been an issue for any of you, however, I had health insurance when I had my surgery 7/16/09.   I was on cobra plan from being laid off.  However, the cobra plan expired and I wasn't able to find a job with a company so I am a consultant which doesn't have health benefits obviously.

I tried all over for private insurance and no one would accept because I had gastric bypass surgery and I still have more weight to lose.  They say the risk of RNY + a still high BMI, declines me.

So now I have problems, I am in desperate need for medical care and a surgery and I can't get insurance.

Has anyone had this situation and found anyone to accept you.  I didn't know it would be so hard to get it afterwards and right now I'm very stressed out and scared not knowing what to do.

Even if I got private insurance now they probably won't take pre-existing conditions.

Would like any opinions.  

Thanks,

Jackie
Started Liquid pre-op diet July 2, 2009 / Surgery on July 16th, 2009
Starting weight: 385
Current: 245
First goal: 180

shantele7824
on 5/18/11 4:33 am - SAN PABLO, CA
Hi Jackie

I have a insurance plan named PCIP (pre-existing condition insurance plan) look into it, www.pcip.ca.gov good luck.  They are how I was able to have my sleeve done and it isn't expensive at all.
First Meeting with Surgeon:2/10/2011  weight was 460
Surgery Date:5/03/2011  Weight was 428
Revsion To RNY 06/26/2012 Weight 

Jackie717
on 5/18/11 7:19 am
Oh wow!  I didn't know this existed, Thanks so much!  I have all my forms filled out, now I just need to find my denial letter from insurance from last Summer!  

MUCH Appreciated!!

Jackie
Started Liquid pre-op diet July 2, 2009 / Surgery on July 16th, 2009
Starting weight: 385
Current: 245
First goal: 180

shantele7824
on 5/18/11 7:52 am - SAN PABLO, CA