Tinkering with the idea of going completely sugar free

Lori Black
on 4/5/10 9:55 pm - , IN
I have known from Michelle (Vitalady) and others for quite some time that one of the most effective ways to keep our weight off for a long time after WLS is by avoiding sugar.  I know for sure that I don't want to go through the pain/mental anguish of a major regain, I'd have to be committed and make leather belts for eternity if I did.  I've already attempted and accomplished the gluten-free thing, so I know I have the strength to do this.  I'm curious if cutting out the sugar will allow my body to lose the 10 pounds that I'd like to lose.  My main diet is awesome, it's the exras in the sugar department that seem to be bombarding my attempts to lose. I'm not good with moderation when it comes to sugar, so I feel that cutting it out completely is my only real choice.   I eat bacon, seafood, chicken, red meat a couple of times a week, nuts, edamame, salads, very few cooked veggies other than green beans, protein shakes, and cheese. (Can't forget my coffee with heavy cream!)  I can only imagine that once I boot the sugar from my life that I will lose again.  I'm not doing this as an attempt to lose weight, but rather to maintain for the long term.  I'm not unhappy with my weight now, but I'm not wanting to gain anymore.  I just don't want to slide back into old habits, and sugar was the main reason I got obese to begin with. 

I guess my reason for posting this is for accountability.  You guys have been here for me in the past, and I could really use some strength to get through this.  I'm not asking anyone to jump on the bandwagon, just needed to put my plan out there in the open so I'll follow through with it.  My husband is off work today and starting new things is never a good idea when he is off work.  So my goal is to end my relationship with sugar tomorrow.  (Wednesday) 

I think I can, I think I can, I think I can......

Lori
Nicolle
on 4/5/10 10:01 pm