Need recipe ideas

Lsmith3
on 6/24/16 4:10 pm
DS on 05/09/16

Hello, I'm new to this. I am 6 weeks post op with a DS. I am down 46 pounds since coming home from the hospital. I am having a horrible time getting fluids and protein in. Nothing tastes good and nothing sits well on my stomach. Anyone else having problems like this? Even water doesn't sit well. Please help with ideas. I had to switch to a patch vitamin because I couldn't keep the others down. 

PattyL
on 6/25/16 2:02 pm

There is a FB group for patch users and most found they don't work as well as they should.  So while a patch is better than nothing, it isn't nearly enough long term.

By the time you are 6 weeks out, you should be able to eat almost anything.  You should not have nausea all the time.  Are you on a PPI?  If not, try one.  You can just get some OTC Nexium or ask your doc for antinausea meds.  Have you discussed this problem with your surgeon?

Whenever what you are doing isn't working, change it.  Have you tried egg drop soup?  How about shrimp or crab?  Pintos and cheese from Taco Bell?  Have you tried gatorade or pedialite?  How about popsicles?  Or iced/hot tea?  Until you can eat and get the nausea under control, don't worry about carbs too much.  At this point, I would even try mashed potatoes.  Food is nice but first you have to worry about fluids.  Dehydration can cause nausea!

Are you trying to choke down some nasty protein supplement/shakes?  Those can cause nausea too.  And if what you are taking is labeled as a supplement it does not have the salts you need to live.  Think sodium, potassium, calcium etc.  Right now a meal replacement drink would be much better for you.

If I was in your shoes, right now I would have some gatorade, a snack size bag of chips, and a banana.  Good luck!

PeteA
on 6/27/16 11:20 am - Parma, OH
DS on 04/15/13