having lapband surgery

(deactivated member)
on 1/10/11 12:32 am - NY
Hi everyone,
I'm new to ths forum. I had Gastric Bypass 5yrs. ago and now I need to have Lapband surgery in 2 weeks I'm very nervous and afraid.  know if  your throwing up all the time ur band can slip if that happens. Gastric bypass  was no walk in the park and I know the pain I went thru,  

Can anyone give me any advice what to expect post-op/  what type of food  should shop for for the 2weeks post op bcause i remember just drinking protein shakes after the bypass.

Thank you
WASaBubbleButt
on 1/10/11 1:12 am - Mexico
On January 10, 2011 at 8:32 AM Pacific Time, sdophie1 wrote:
Hi everyone,
I'm new to ths forum. I had Gastric Bypass 5yrs. ago and now I need to have Lapband surgery in 2 weeks I'm very nervous and afraid.  know if  your throwing up all the time ur band can slip if that happens. Gastric bypass  was no walk in the park and I know the pain I went thru,  

Can anyone give me any advice what to expect post-op/  what type of food  should shop for for the 2weeks post op bcause i remember just drinking protein shakes after the bypass.

Thank you

That totally depends on what your doctor's post op diet is.  How did she suggest you advance foods?

BTW, are you aware of this?

wasabubblebutt.blogspot.com/2010/03/announcements.html

Previously Midwesterngirl

The band got me to goal, the sleeve will keep me there.

See  my blog for newbies: 
http://wasabubblebutt.blogspot.com/
steelerfan1
on 1/10/11 1:23 am
Hi there !!!

Welcome to the boards and to the lap band.

My gf had the same thing done gastric to lapband and she said compared to the gastric surgery the lapband was a piece of cake for her :o)

NO reason to be nervous this is actually a very simple surgery .  I was up and walking 15 min after I got back to my room and went home that night and my surgery wasn't even till 1 pm in the afternoon !!!!