Refused knee replacement due to morbid obesity

shirleigh
on 8/28/15 7:57 am

Refused knee replacement at QCH Ottawa due to weighing 260 even though Dr. Described my knee as stage 4 and called it horrible. Asked when was the last time you walked around the block? If I could walk around the block I wouldn't need surgery. I am 68, awaiting an app't re lap band revision to Roux-en-Y. i feel I am in a catch 22. I also need carpal tunnel surgery but I need to be able to walk without a walker. I worked 40 years as a registered nurse and have severe spinal stenosis. But I do walk with a walker. I went to the surgical information session at the Civic Campus of the Ottawa Hospital from which I graduated but due to being over 65 I must see the Dr. first.  Has anyone else been in a similar cir****tance here in Ottawa and do you have any advice?

Delicious_Delilah
on 8/28/15 9:37 am - Ottawa, Canada

Everyone has to see the doctor in order to be approved -- not just patients of a certain age! 

I don't know what the guidelines are now, but when I was going through the process (three years ago), they often refused to perform the surgery on patients over 65. When I went to see the surgeon (in Ottawa), there was a woman in the waiting room who went in ahead of me -- we chatted while we were waiting...for a long while as they were at least an hour late.  When she came out, she told me that it looked they weren't going to proceed because of her age (she was over 65), but that her case would go to rounds...but chances weren't good.  She had mobility issues herself due to a serious fall she had taken.

I don't know if this still holds, but I would go in there to meet the doctor and be very determined, especially in light of the fact that they won't do a knee replacement due to your weight.  Be prepared and have your reasoning ready.  Are there also alternatives you might consider, like the medical (optifast) program? 

I wish you the best of luck!

DD

shirleigh
on 8/29/15 12:53 pm