3-5 week post op platuea

BigPoppa22
on 4/13/14 8:11 am
RNY on 03/21/14

How long does this last? Also is there anything I need to do to make it stop other than following the diet? This is a very frustrating time right now. I am three weeks and two days post op. 

poet_kelly
on 4/13/14 8:39 am - OH

Well, many people don't consider it a real plateau unless it lasts at least a month, but it rarely lasts that long this early out (although it can).  It will probably last a week or two.  And no, you don't need to do anything other than stick to your plan.  If it's very frustrating for you, it might help to stay off the scale for a few weeks.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

tdbull
on 4/13/14 10:23 am - WA
RNY on 08/13/13
I hit my plateau at just under 3 weeks and it lasted almost 3 weeks. It was VERY frustrating but it passes. Luckily it's the only plateau I have had so far - I just quit weighing myself so I wouldn't get so crazy. Hang in there.

Lapband surgery in 2009 -  Revision to RNY August 13, 2013 with gallbladder removal.

HW - (260)   SW - (197)   GW - (135), updated on 1-2-14 to 125lbs  HT 5'5"  Goal reached 3/2/14-revised goal to 120 on 3/9/14   reached 4/6/14             

BigPoppa22
on 4/13/14 11:45 am
RNY on 03/21/14

So do we lose inches or what during this time?  Seems like we should be loosing something.

Grim_Traveller
on 4/13/14 10:37 pm
RNY on 08/21/12

You are still losing fat, you are just gaining water. It will pass. Inches are necessarily slower to come off than pounds.

6'3" tall, male.

Highest weight was 475. RNY on 08/21/12. Current weight: 198.