Medicare Vitamins Question

Another Fatone
on 5/15/14 12:55 am - inglis, FL
RNY on 08/28/13

I have a letter of medical necessity stating I need vitamins calcium citrate, multi vitamin, Iron and B-12 shots for life.

Anyone know how to get them thru Medicare?

I am 69 years old. Too old to work and too young to die..... 

5' 11" 73 year old Male

Started 314 Now 200

Beware the Statistics Quoters

poet_kelly
on 5/15/14 2:32 am - OH

It would depend on your Medicare Part D plan, I guess, but as far as I know, Medicare won't cover over the counter vitamins.  My Part D plan won't cover the B 12 shots, either, but I don't mind because they are not expensive.  I pay $8.08 for two doses of B12 and about 25 cents each for syringes.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Another Fatone
on 5/15/14 6:25 am - inglis, FL
RNY on 08/28/13

Hi kelly

Just got back from my appointment with the veterans admin PCP. They are going to provide both drugs and vitamins free. I am 100% disabled service connected. I want to thank all the tax payers out there.

PS: in this area there is a shortage of B-12 shots but I was able to round up 4 doses recently.

5' 11" 73 year old Male

Started 314 Now 200

poet_kelly
on 5/15/14 6:31 am - OH

Who is providing them, the VA?  That's great.

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Another Fatone
on 5/15/14 6:39 am - inglis, FL
RNY on 08/28/13