question about protein shakes

rbccbrmfld
on 10/28/11 7:23 am
I am three weeks post surgery and just now getting all my protein in.  My question is I keep reading posts saying that protein shakes could cause stalls.  I am in one now after losing almost 20 pds. I have been for about 5 days.  I usually drink two 6 ounce protein shakes a day to get protein in because can't each much regular food at a time yet. 1-2 ounces of meat is it.  Is this to much shakes or am I ok at this point.  I will reduce them when I can eat more. Any advice would be great thanks.

rhidunn
on 10/28/11 7:29 am - Annapolis, MD
Depeding on how much I eat - I have been drinking 2 or 3 protein shakes a day since my surgery 11/2008.  I have lost 260 pounds and never experienced a substantial "stall".  Remember that as you loose all this weight your body has to stop and "recalculate" every so often.  During this early time, hyrdration, protein and wise food choices should be all you think about -- the scale and your body will take care of the rest.

rbccbrmfld
on 10/28/11 7:37 am
Thanks so much. I have limited my carbs most of all my foods have high protein amounts.  Every once in a while do pintos and cheese. Maybe once a week and have done wendys chilli once.  Im so glad to hear that 2 are ok a day.  I dont always like them but they do the trick.  I am going to list what I had yesterday and please tell me if you think I am doing ok.  My water does need to get up sometimes only get around 50 ounces.
bfast  protein shake 6 ounces 26 grams protein
snack same thing
lunch  greek yogurt 4-5 ounces around 10grams protein
dinner 2 ounces fish about 12 grams protein
snack 1/4 cup cottage cheese
I think I had 79 grams protein for day and 53 ounces water.

Charlie S.
on 10/28/11 7:53 am