Just learning about VSG

zeke
on 4/13/12 11:21 pm - Dunlap, TN
I'm curious as to how long it takes to get approval for VSG.  What kinds of things did you have to do to get approval?  I'm just learning so all this is completely new to me.  All I know is I'm almost 48 with a 22 month old daughter ( my oldest is 23!!)  I would like to live to see my baby at least graduate from High School!!  Please share your experiences with getting started on your journey and other things along the way.

rhearob
on 4/14/12 3:28 am - TN
 I have BCBS of MI.  Their requirements were a 6 month supervised diet(  i heard they might have scrapped that now). a BMI over 40 or 35 with co morbidities, and PCP reccomendation.

Every insurance company is different, so call yours.  Thats the best thing you can do is make sure you know all of the requirements from your policy and stay on top of making sure those get met.

Also, it elps too have your surgery through a center of excellence that has support groups, nut's and exercise people.  

VSG: 11/2/2011; LBL+Thigh Lift+BL: 10/3/2012; Brach+Mastopexy:  7/22/2013

Marcia B.
on 4/14/12 3:31 am, edited 4/14/12 3:32 am - CA
I am one of the lucky ones I guess... my approval for surgery was very fast.  I got a referral from my primary doctor to see the bariatric surgeon and after meeting him and then taking one nutrition class, and seeing the psychologist for my psych eval... (I ended up having to see her 2 more times) so all told it took me maybe a month total to get all the pre-op tests and the evals done and then I was put in for surgery date and got approval the same week and had surgery on July 13th and I went to my primary to get a referral in Early May.  I think I was also lucky because I had other conditions that factored into my approval... I was pre-diabetic, High Blood Pressure and Sleep apnea. 

My insurance is United Healthcare (formerly Pacificare)

Good luck to you :)