Why did you gain all the weight in the first place? Figure it out?

Brenda777
on 12/29/12 4:11 pm
VSG on 03/19/12

I always said the reason I gained the weight was bcos the weight made me feel safe.  I had been sexually abused as a child, and my subconscious thought weight would make me safe.  

I have been working with a therapist for a couple of months.  I now realize that is probably 1/4 of the reason.

The real reason I gained the weight:  I never felt worthy of good health.

In order to have good health and make smart choices we have to feel we are worthy of good health.  As a child my mother never acted like she loved me.  She still does not act like she loves me.  I realized I never felt like I mattered.  I am married with children, but I still did not believe I mattered.  My husband is extremely passive and never expressed much of an opinion about anything.  He never encouraged me to get healthier.  I know he loves me, but his personality is too passive to suggest anything.  

What happened was I developed a friendship with someone.  My friend gave me his time, support, caring.  I made the decision to get the sleeve to improve my health.  Essentially, through our daily Skyping, texts, and emails; I began to believe I mattered, bcos my friend made me feel that way.

I have learned I have to get my self-esteem from within, and by knowing God loves me.  We are not supposed get our self-esteem through relationships, but that is essentially what happened. 

I am grateful to my friend who took the time to help me believe in myself.  By the way, he is from the other side of the world.  We have met twice, and I will be forever grateful for his friendship.   

I am worthy.  We are all worthy.

We have to discover what the reason is, and work on this issue.  I think most of us have issues that have caused us to put the weight on.  

HW: 318.6  Pre-surgery Weight: 268.6  CW: 149 Sleeve Date:  March 19, 2012