Newbie just starting the process for sleeve

Missylaneous
on 4/12/13 2:23 am - DE

Hello All, I am a total "newb" I have been poking around trying to get an idea as to how things run. Sorry in advance if this does not belong here. I promise I will figure this all out eventually :-)

I am 26 years old, I have P.C.O.S. and have dramatically gained weight since the age of 19. I went from a size 16 to a 26. 7 doctors have recommended WLS. I considered the Opti-Fast program through our hospital here in Delaware but that consultant recommended the WLS as well. The PCOS. makes this weight loss journey frustrating so I realize I need help.

I attended my required seminar, consultation, and nutrition visit. I still have to see a cardiologist, lung doctor, psychologist and have my endoscopy scheduled for 4/26. All of these are required before the hospital will submit to insurance. (I am sure it is similar everywhere. I'm still learning). I made this attempt 2 years ago when I was 40 pounds lighter but my insurance would not pay for it. I have insurance that will pay 100% with no hoops to jump through now but unfortunately it is changing over to Cigna soon. All of it really is as confusing as I made it sound. My husband returned to his old company so I am very familiar with the type of plan as it gave me trouble before.

I have elected the sleeve as it was the most appealing to me. The surgical team turned down my request for the band 2 years ago given my PCOS (has anyone else had that happen?)

The nutrition office is being pretty helpful. They want me to start my classes now so they can work on my case for Cigna in order to get me in for surgery over the summer (fingers crossed no more road blocks)

My initial question about the sleeve has to do with the "acid reflux" sensation. I currently have acid reflux. The seminar suggested those with reflux should choose the bypass over the sleeve. Has anyone had severe issues with this?

Thank you for listening to all my babbling.