Not cold feet...fear of failing

EmmyK
on 4/12/14 4:25 pm - CA
VSG on 04/30/14

My surgery is April 30.  I began this journey last August (had a six month wait with old insurance, had diverticulitis that resulted in a sigmoid colectomy in October.  We moved cross country in December.  Had to find a new doctor, but my new insurance approved me on the spot.)

I'm not at all afraid of surgery.  I'm an OR nurse, so it is just a day at the office for me, except I'm on the other side of the equation, so to speak.

I'm afraid it could fail.  I'm afraid it won't work.

I know it is just a tool, but a powerful one at that.  I've changed my eating considerably and lost about 18 lbs.  My doctor would like to see more (I'm also on a new cardiac med that has zapped my energy and has the side effect of weight gain...I put on 4 lbs in the four weeks since I went on it.) 

After years of trying and failing, I am afraid that it won't work.  That I'll be an outlier and they will just scratch their heads and say, "Huh...I don't know why it's not working.  You're just not working hard enough/eating right/exercising enough." 

I've done all of the classes, met with the nutritionists, read every book out there.  I know what needs to happen as far as exercise/diet.  I guess I just won't believe it can really happen until the pounds and inches start falling off.

My posts are for general information and do not constitute medical advice.  They should not serve as the basis for any medical decision by you.  Call your physician for advice.  HW 248  SW 233  CW 155

Blue_Bayou
on 4/12/14 4:31 pm

I hear you!

I don't have my surgery scheduled yet but will soon. and I have the same fear of failing.  I've been reading as much as I can including the forums where people discuss where they think they went off the program and what lead to it etc... I want to be fully informed and hopefully self-aware enough that I can learn from others.