Nervous

Skippy1
on 9/11/18 9:28 am - MI

I will be having my last meeting with my nutritionist this Friday. Insurance was 6 months of meetings. All tests and clearances are done. Currently I weigh about 275 and the heaviest was 290. I am 61 yrs old and need to have a hernia repaired hence the WLS. I also suffer from rheumatoid arthritis. I am beginning to have second thoughts about changing everything. I really don't eat much anymore and never had a sweet tooth-due to the R/A which I have been fighting for 30 years I find exercise difficult other than walking. I am retired. I would hope to be able to lead a normal life other than the eating but I just don't see it happening. I enjoy sitting around drinking a diet vernors with the guys once a week or going out with my wife and doing vacations. It seems like I may not be able to enjoy my life as much as I do now. How does everyone cope?

MissCheri18
on 9/11/18 11:59 am - Daytona Beach, FL
VSG on 06/25/18

I am 60-years old and had my VSG in June. I have had a lot of issues not caused by the surgery but found because of it which is a blessing because we are slowly and surely fixing things and stopping what cannot be fixed from getting worse. I suffer from pain for years now caused by the nerve damage from a brain surgery, my entire body but mainly my legs and about 2 years ago walking became almost impossible in-part from the pain and also because I had a tear in my diaphragm that made breathing near impossible with any even mild exercise, which they sewed up during my VSG surgery. All I can say is I am not sorry I had this VSG, the improvements totally outweigh any negatives. BTW as for eating out, I still do but I typically share with whom I'm with.

5' 2". 60-year-old (at time of surgery)

HW 239.9, SW 223

GW (Surgeon) 150, GW (Mine) 135

Cheri

Grim_Traveller
on 9/11/18 12:04 pm
RNY on 08/21/12