weight loss stalled 3 weeks after RNY

Karen W.
on 4/30/11 11:38 pm - Canada
This is my first time posting.  I had RNY three weeks ago and my weight loss has stalled already.  I lost 15 lbs in the 3 weeks prior to surgery (on the Opti-fast program), then lost 7 lbs in the first week after surgery, 4 1/2 in the second week, and less than half a pound in the third week.  My caloric intake is 500-600 calories/day, I am getting at least 60 g protein/day, 2 L of water, and am taking all of my vitamins.  I'm starting to wonder if this might not work for me, just as everything else hasn't worked.  I would love to hear from anyone else who experienced this, especially if things turned around and you ended up losing weight in the long run!
Elizabeth N.
on 5/1/11 12:29 am - Burlington County, NJ

The following explanation is courtesy of Diana Cox:

Our bodies use glycogen for short term energy storage. Glycogen is not very soluble, but it is stored in our muscles for quick energy -- one pound of glycogen requires 4 lbs of water to keep it soluble, and the average glycogen storage capacity is about 2 lbs. So, when you are not getting in enough food, your body turns first to stored glycogen, which is easy to break down for energy. And when you use up 2 lbs of glycogen, you also lose 8 lbs of water that was used to store it -- voila -- the "easy" 10 lbs that most people lose in the first week of a diet.