Getting Started

Sweetish
on 1/4/14 7:16 am
RNY on 12/12/14

I was wondering if someone can help me on here.  I am new to OH and just have begun researching WLS.  I have been to the "insurance" message board and posted there, but haven't heard back.  I was wondering if anyone could tell me what I should request from my human resource dept at work as far as coverage goes.

I already have spoke to my ins. co. and they have already told me that the RNY procedure is covered, as long as I complete the 6 months requirement and meet their criteria for co-morbidities, which I do.  But, I did read on the message boards that I should not take the ins. company's word for it and do my research myself.  That is why I was wondering what I should ask from my HR Dept.

Do I need both a copy of our policy along with the "Requirements"?  I know all insurance is different, but I was told to do my due diligence on my own just incase.  Can anyone help?

Mary Gee
on 1/4/14 10:45 am

The only thing I think you need to ask your HR dept. is if they have excluded WLS from their policy.

When I had United Health Care -- they covered WLS, but my employer placed a WLS exclusion on their policy.  Therefore, it wasn't covered.

Other than that, I'd go by what the Insurance Company says.  Also, the surgeon' offices are generally very knowledgeable about coverages.

Good luck to you.

Still learning.  Currently in pre-op stage.

VSG on 06/12/13