Iron Infusion??????

ShowStopper ..
on 8/3/09 2:06 am
So I am off to the hospital to have my iron infusion.  Has anyone had to have this?  Did it help your energy level?  How many times did u have to have it?   This is my first time....will get back with you later tonight to let you know what happened and why I needed this, if feeling up to it.

When you devote yourself to achieving your goal, you will not be bothered by shallow criticism.

(deactivated member)
on 8/3/09 3:47 am - syracuse, NY
I have had them dozens of times.....and yes they do help big time with your energy level.....just wanted to add that wls isnt my sole reason for having so many infusions... I have other health issues that contribute to my anemia
ShowStopper ..
on 8/3/09 10:14 pm
Thanks, yes I am very weak.  I have a hardtime with my workout, just getting out of bed.

When you devote yourself to achieving your goal, you will not be bothered by shallow criticism.

Carol *
on 8/3/09 5:20 am
Hi SS,
I've never had iron injections before, but I may need to have them.  What was your hemoglobin level?  Mine was 6.8 a couple of weeks ago.  Let me know how it goes...
ShowStopper ..
on 8/3/09 10:21 pm
Hey Carol, hope you have gotten your iron up.  My was 6.3.  I take 325mg of iron per day.  Thanks

Dedee
on 8/3/09 9:04 am - Home Is Where, The HEART is, Midwest
Never had it....refused it.....they need to find out why your iron is low!!

There has to be a reason ~feel better~

I focus not on my disabilty; my focus is on my ABILITIES.  
(Dedee, 2009)              

My hearing impairment ENABLES me, not disables me.
(Dedee, 2008)

~Dedee   

ShowStopper ..
on 8/3/09 10:12 pm
GM Dedee, so what did you do to improve your iron levels if they are very low?  I am currently on 325mg of iron 3 times per day.

Because of the problems yesterday, I will have to have a backup plan:
Items for my grocery list today.
  • Liver and other meats
  • Seafood
  • Dried fruits like apricots, prunes and raisins
  • Nuts