New Here... Considering VSG or band

terria1202
on 10/17/13 12:23 pm
Hi All,

I'm a newbie considering wls. I had my seminar yesterday and I'm planning to move forward with my plans on having the surgery. I'm just unsure about which procedure is best. I have several friends that had the band and loss a substantial amount of weight and looks great. I have on co-worker who had the bypass. She looks great weight wish but her face is becoming skeleton and her hair is coming out.

About a year or 2 ago, I was 308 pounds and loss 100 pounds on phentermine but since then I gained 74 pounds back. Now, I'm here considering the weight loss surgery but I want to select the best option for a lifetime and not a moment.

I was hoping to find some support groups with individuals that have had the band and sleeve. In reading some of these post, most people with the band has gained a great portion of the weight back after several years and considering reversal.

I just need help.....

Btw... I don't plan to have the surgery until 2014 and my current weight is 274 pounds.
(deactivated member)
on 10/18/13 1:59 am

Terria1202, I had gastric bypass in 2007 and gained most of my weight back. Despite serious exercising and eating right, I was only able to lost 85lbs. I have since learned that the Duodenal Switch would have been a better option for me instead of the RNY. I have read on other boards that the LapBand has caused major problems, thus, causing them to have to have a revision to an RNY or another procedure. All I can tell is to look at other forums, do your research, and make the best decision for you.

terria1202
on 10/18/13 7:10 am

Thanks Hopeful!