I have nobody and need positive conversation. BMI - 54.

Darlingmarch2
on 12/16/14 9:58 am

Hey. I'm new to this whole group thing. I have been going about this process all on my own, finding information and getting in contact with doctors. My BMI is 54 right now. I have just made my one-on-one consultation with the doctor I am hoping will perform my surgery. I am planning on getting gastric bypass. I will know more when I see the doctor in Jan. Jan. 5th is my appointment. Last week I went to my third information seminar and all week I have been doing research and I made my appointment yesterday. I am getting extremely excited for this consultation. I really hope everything goes good in this process and smoothly and I will be able to get my surgery sometime around July. Obviously, I will keep updating. I need people in my life who have my back and appreciate what I'm trying to do. I have shared the fact that I'm getting this surgery with four of my friends/family members. Only one of them are being positive and helpful. I feel the others are downing me and being extremely negative. I'd love advice and information and just to be able to talk and have conversations with people who understand what I'm going through. 

selhard
on 12/16/14 10:03 pm - MN
RNY on 11/26/12

Hi, you should find this site a daily source for education and advice.  I used all six months of the waiting period to prepare for WLS whi*****luded losing weight beforehand.  One thing I'm glad I didn't do was to watch videos of the procedure--it's scary enough without the images.  My greatest advice to you is seeking counseling both before and after. I believe the super morbidly obese tend to have bigger issues to overcome sometimes.  Counseling helped make me stronger during the adjustment period. 

Darlingmarch2
on 12/17/14 8:50 am