Exercize balls and what to do with them?

wkrecio
on 2/21/07 8:46 am
Hi All.... This is actually my first time on this Board (but certainly NOT my last!).  I had my RNY last Sept 29th and am so excited to be able to exercize.  I've been exercizing for several months now.  I even joined my local YMCA.  It's the first time I've ever joined a gym.  We had an orientation and I understand most everything except....  those exercize balls.  I mean the big ones that you balance yourself on?  I'm not even sure what they are officially called.  Anyway, how do I find out what to do with them?  Is there a website somewhere or a book I can buy?  Because this is my first time on this Board, please forgive me if this question has been asked & answered so many times before.  But please indulge me because I think I'd like to start utilizing those balls.  Thanks in advance for any help you can give me! WK
Neecee O.
on 2/21/07 8:47 pm, edited 2/21/07 8:56 pm - CA
Hi WK!  I love my ball. It works your body more cuz you work to stay stable on it and use more fine muscles. Basically, I use it like a weight bench - do crunches on it, dumbell fly moves (no dumbells, only arm weights), push ups on it (balance feet on it, arms on floor like a table).  i also work along with an exercise show (fit tv channel on cable), using arms mainly. I place my feet against my couch or hearth to stabilize myself.  I am sure there are websites about exercises to  do on it - plug in stability ball into google and see what you get.   Ask at the Y, too.  Go to a used book store and see if they have any books for cheap! Pictures help.  I get a lot of ideas out of magazines:  shape, men's health, yoga journal, etc.  Check it out at the gym, then buy one for the house!  They are cheap. Good luck and come back and give us a report!
Sweet_Mammy
on 2/23/07 5:26 am - Norwalk, CT