Achilles tendonitis

Easternshoregrl
on 10/24/11 2:44 am - MD
Since my surgery and even before, I have enjoyed walking. I walk about 2 miles 4X a week. I was doing the elliptical at my college gym until I graduated and can't use it anymore. I would love to have one but they are too expensive for one I could use. My issue is my achilles tendonitis. It has made walking/treadmill/elliptical very painful to do. I bought myself asics running shoes. I wanted to eventually start running but it seems that is out now.
The asics do help me to walk, but after 1/2 hr, I start having pain again.
Thanks for listening to me vent. It sux not being able to do the only exercise you don't mind doing.

First consult 306, pre-op visit 278, surgery date 272, current 198

JsSkinnyMom
on 10/24/11 3:11 am - Youngsville, LA
That sucks! I feel your pain. I had just starting running and was really enjoying myself. Got up to running 5 miles then started having knee trouble. Now I'm reduced to running just 1.5 miles at a time. I had even signed up for a local 10K that I won't be able to do. Soooo frustrating... Guess we'll just have to look a little harder to find something that we enjoy AND doesn't hurt!
 J's Skinny Mom  

HW 238 / SW 235 / CW 120  
jwc10s
on 10/24/11 3:20 am, edited 10/24/11 3:21 am
 I'm not sure I would give up quite yet if you enjoy walking and have a goal of running. Is it Achillies Tendonitis or Achillies Tendinosis which you have? There is a difference, and really needs to be determined. If it is tendonitis there are methods of elevating the pain, and also treatments. If you have an accute tendonitis it may be that you would benefit from a walking boot to immobilize the area for a recovery period. Have you tired shoe inserts in both running shoes and casual shoes? Have you been professionally fitted for a shoe at a running store to determine if you are overpronating? Have you tried using Voltran Gel which is a topical gel used which might help?