Suggested Diets/Eating Habits

aintgotno5
on 8/12/14 7:07 am

Hey all. This is my first time posting on here, but my mom has been encouraging me to do so for months now and as everyone on here was very helpful to her when she had her bypass surgery over a decade ago.

I had my band in 12/2009 and was 260lbs. The lowest I've made it to was 180lbs but over the last year I have found my weight steadily creeping back up and now find myself at 220lbs.

My reason for posting is to find out what other surgeons have suggested to you for diets/eating habits post-surgery. The only guidance I have ever received from my surgeon is to eat 30g (or less) or carbs. My eating habits have not changed in the last three years (I am very much a creature of habit) and the weight gain has occurred over the last year. I don't want to ask my surgeon as I am always made uncomfortable when they berate me for not following their diet plan rather than try and help me come up with a plan that works better for me.

I am desperate to find out what other people are doing to be successful post-op. I made the decision to make this change in my life and I want to be a success. Please share. Thanks.

Hislady
on 8/12/14 8:25 am - Vancouver, WA

How is your fill level, is it working well or do you maybe need a bit more. Other than that all I can suggest is weigh and measure your foods carefully. It's easy to get too much by just eyeballing it. Write down eveything you put in your mouth and keep the carbs low. Myself if I go over 20 I will gain, I'm all for low carb it's the only way I ever lose. Remember protein first and then a few non starchy veggies works best. Add in some exercise if you can. Good luck!

Jo 1962
on 8/12/14 8:30 am - NearHouston, TX