10 years, was it a success? How to get back on track?

Dan T.
on 10/29/18 11:53 am - Logan, UT

This week was my 10 year anniversary.

I have not been exercising or watching what I eat now for years. It was an email in my inbox and several discussions with my wife that brings me back around.

Life has been a roller coaster. I was on SS Disability and walked with a cane from 2012 to 2016. I was (and still) deal with severe nerve pain in my back, neck and extremities. I went back to school in 2013. I went back to work in 2016. 3 months ago I finished my bachelors.

4 weeks ago I started my masters degree and got a job promotion.

My oldest is married and has 2 kids. My second oldest is in the Marine Corps. Our 3rd oldest is starting college in a few months.

My health has not been the greatest. My wife still has a heart condition and recently found out she has had a mild stroke. All of the health scares and my weight have been concerns for years. We finally decided to get back on track.

I currently weigh 286 :( - doctors would still consider this a success as my heaviest was 427. I would like to get back down to 200 and to start exercising.

My body hurts all the time, I go to work to take care of my family, but I am miserable sitting, standing, and laying. At one point in 2012 I was addicted to pain medication. I had to go cold turkey off of all of it and suffered withdrawals for 6 weeks.

I could use motivation and advice. I feel old at just 45 years of age. I want to feel younger and have a fuller life and to enjoy working and playing again.

Thanks,

Dan

Dan

"Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." - Benjamin Franklin

Don 1962
on 10/30/18 3:52 pm

Nice to see you back!

82much
on 11/4/18 9:53 am
VSG on 11/28/16

Nice to meet you Dan.

This month will mark my two yer anniversary. I tell you I am scared ****less about regain. I am up about 3 or 4 pounds from my lowest.