Finding it hard to resist late night snacks!

Nijaz79
on 10/2/08 1:37 pm
Ok I am new to all this and this is my first post, but here goes... I have been on the south beach diet for about a year now and I have lost around 65 pounds, and need to loose about 50 more. I am having trouble late at night though. I will be so good all day long and watch everything that goes in my mouth, and then late i night sometimes its like I can't resist having sweets. I feel like I ruin all the hard work I put in all day. Is anyone else having a hard time with this issue, or can help in any way it would be greatly appriciated?
Ruth Shapovalov
on 10/2/08 1:49 pm - Bothell, WA
You're more than halfway to goal! I'd say you're doing SOMETHING right, sister!

I'll tell you one little thing, and I'm just a mom, not an expert, but... I firmly believe cravings are due to a lack of something. My studies over the past year lead me to believe it's probably minerals. One thing I've very non-professionally "encouraged" a friend to try is magnesium at night. It's a natural relaxant. If you get a good mineral supplement, and maybe try a magnesium tea kind of thing at night (I got mine at my chiropracter's office, not sure what brand it is... ocean scene on the jar) it might help you relax and get your mind off sugar. Sugar also helps create sugar cravings, IMO.

Meanwhile, celebrate YOU for accomplishing a 65 pound release! As my Aussie buddies would say "good anya!"

Ruth

Nijaz79
on 10/6/08 6:10 am
Thank you Ruth for your suggestion. I am going to go and try to find the Tea today. I am hoping they have it at Sprouts Health food store. At this point I am willing to try just about anything. I seem to be stuck at my current weight and cant get under the 190 mark. It is so frustraiting.
mwy
on 10/2/08 1:58 pm
Wow, 65 pounds. Bravo Keep up the good work.