My Weight Loss Story (it's a long one)

Vyxxin18
on 4/25/11 2:12 pm - PA
I'm new to OH and even newer to the non-surgical weight loss section. A bit (okay, a LOT) about me.

I'm 23yrs old. I've known I was overweight since I was 12yrs old when my doctor mentioned it and it's been a losing battle since.

When I was 15 or 16 I tried getting control of my weight. I weighed 190lbs...I started vigorous exercise daily which resulted in lowered appetite (for me) and further resulted in a weight loss of 35lbs.  I got my liscense...quit exercising...put it all back on and then some.

From age 16-19 I put on weight yearly...and at 19 I weighed 245lbs. I again attempted to lose weight. I tried fad diets including all fish diets, all meat diets, low carb and low cal diets. I also joined Curves at this time and DID lose around 17lbs...making it down to around 228lbs. I became pregnant.

I had my first child in June 2008 when I was 20...two months later I was pregnant with my second child. Two pregnancies later, in July 2009 I was 22yrs old and very close to 300lbs (between 280-290lbs)  this was the worst time of my life. I developed severe breathing issues, reflux issues, apnea...fell into severe depression (it'd always been lingering) and finally had to do something so I went to my doctor and asked about weight loss surgery.

He felt I was a good candidate and put me on track for surgery. After 6mos of diet (half hearted on and off attempts on my part) I had gained 12lbs and my insurance company denied my surgery. I was devastated.

Several months later at a follow up visit with my PCP we decided to try the course again with my new insurance company. I have now completed my second 6mos pre-op diet/exercise program and here comes the dilemma and my weight loss SUCCESS story.