Healthcare for nurses

~Beautiful One~
on 1/9/06 6:37 pm - Suburban, MI
For the the nurses, did you feel that you received differential treatment as a patient because you were a nurse. I see it alot, I'm not sure its because I am a nurse or because of being a REALLY informed consumer. If you or someone you know have experienced this, let me know. I'm really curious, because we talked about it at work a few months back. I was a little surprised to hear some of the comments.
RobinNJ
on 1/11/06 5:57 am - Ewing, NJ
Diva, I'm not sure if you mean by other nurses, like when I'm the patient in a hospital, or by doctors when I'm the patient in their office. I just had my surgery last week. I tried very hard to be understanding to the nurses on the floor I was on post-op because I've been there, done that. I was treated very poorly. I felt ignored, no-one checked on me on a regular basis. I went a whole shift without ever seeing a nurse one evening. I called and asked for my pain med. It finally came after 90 minutes and three more calls. If that was preferentual treatment I'd hate to be "just" a patient. Robin, RNC
~Beautiful One~
on 1/14/06 2:51 pm - Suburban, MI
I'm sorry you had that negative experience, so far with all my previous surgeries I wasnt fortunate. Even when my daughter was admitted to the hospital, they were nice, but when they found out I was a nurse they just couldn't accomadate us enough. Orginally I wrote this post because there were some really bad surveys about the hospital my doc is out of. There were positive ones too, though. I also know a lot of nurses and medical personnel are against the procedure and that may influence behavior.
Cindy4165
on 2/11/06 10:07 am - Groton, MA