New with some questions!

thenewbre
on 9/17/11 1:13 pm
Hey Everyone,

I am new to the forum and just recieved my surgery date of Nov. 23 with Dr. Sohi. I am so excited.
My question for everyone was how long they were off work for? I have an active job, and Dr. Sohi said 4-6 weeks, but I am able to be accomodated and honestly can't imagine being off that long so just wondering how long others were off.

Also wondering when you follow up with the surgeon ( I moved in the midst of all this and can't find my booklet!!!)

Thanks everyone!!
runjoeyrun16
on 9/17/11 10:32 pm
hi there!
well, i had saved up all my personal and vacation days so i was able to take 4 weeks off work. (i am a preschool teacher). physically, i felt good enough to go back after a couple days. but i really wanted the extra time off to because it felt like a full time job getting all the fluids in. i wanted time to get used to my new way of eating/drinking. i had the time, so i figured i'd take it. but like i said, physically, i felt fine to go back really quickly.
August 20th, 2009 - Referral for WLS from family doctor
May 17th, 2010 - Orientation at Windsor Hospital
May 26th, 2010 - Appointment with nurse and SW
June 1st, 2010 - Appointment with NUT and doctor
August 31st, 2010 - Follow up with SW, NUT and doctor
October 7th, 2010 - Surgical Education Class
November 2nd, 2010 - Consultation with Dr. Jules Foute Nelong
December 21st, 2010 - SURGERY DAY!
(deactivated member)
on 9/17/11 11:20 pm - Canada
From my personal experience I found that getting from one stage to the next and managing my food and fluids and vitamins a full time job. The timing may  be a challenge in the work place...well for me anyway. You need to plan everything that goes in your mouth for the first few months at lease.
Even though you might feel good in a week....if you can, give yourself time to adapt to you new life.
Wishing you all the best in your journey.
Joy
Brenda T.
on 9/17/11 11:21 pm - Oshawa, Canada
RNY on 05/14/12