Newbie Questions

Bellafeega
on 6/11/13 9:23 am - Toronto, Canada

Hey you!

Just wanted to say Hey! I'm a sorta newbie too! You're gonna love it here, everyone is super kind and helpful!

Referral to Bariatric Registry: April 30th 2013  Orientation:  May 27th 2013   Meet Dr Huynh: June 4th 2013

RD and RN: June 5th 2013  SW: June 11th 2013   Dr Glazer: July 3rd 2013  2nd Meeting with Dr Huynh: July 18th 2013  SW: July 18th 2013 Sleep Test: July 16th  Follow Up With Dr Glazer: July 22nd 2012  Patts: July25th Surgery: August 7th 2013!!!!!!!!!

gonna_B_thinner
on 6/11/13 9:38 am

Thanks Bellafeega  I have found everyone very helpful. 

RYMEBE73
on 6/12/13 1:02 am - Guelph, Canada
RNY on 06/30/15

First, welcome to the forum, there are a bunch of wonderful people here going through/gone through what you have!

It was a longer wait time in Guelph, but I've heard it's much faster now.  I can't relate myself as it took 9 months from referral to orientation, then 2 more months before my 1st appt.  It really isn't that long of a wait if you think about it, do you really want to rush into surgery, it gives you time to research as you've been doing, get your finances together, figure out time off, as well, it gets you to start doing small things now that will help you in the long run once you do have surgery.  I am one who isn't having surgery since at the time of my first appointment, my BMI fell below 40 and I have no co-morbs, do I think I wasted the almost year waiitng no, I didn't I made some changes that "kicked" me out of the running.  I am now in a new program Guelph is offering, it's a non-surgical one, where I'll be on OPTI for 12 weeks but going in for weekly sessions with a social worker, dietician and sometimes doctor.  The whole program is actually 26 weeks long.  They just started this in Guelph in February and are telling us that the success is good.

Again welcome! and can't wait to hear about your journey.