Cold feet

Cartysmom
on 6/2/14 6:26 am - Canada

Hello everyone, I am starting my opti on June 13 and my surgery is booked for July 4. Im wondering if anyone felt "cold feet" once you got your surgery date? Ive been working towards this surgery for 3 years and dont wanna "chicken out" but im having fears....just wondering if this is somewhat a normal response???

Caroline K.
on 6/2/14 7:23 am

It's *very* normal. This is major surgery, after all, and I've read lots of similar posts on the main RNY forum. I didn't get nerves, but that's because I'd finally accepted that this was my last option, since dieting and working out were no longer enough since I was always hungry when I brought my calories down to where I could lose weight.

Referred to Guelph, Dec. 3/12. Orientation: Mar 7/13. NUT/SW/RN Jun 18/13. Nutrition Class Jul 3/13. NUT/SW/RN Aug 19/13. Post-op Nutrition Class Dec 30/13. Approval for surgery from Dr. Jules Foute Nelong Feb 10/14. Surgery Apr 23/14.

sellarsgal
on 6/2/14 7:54 am - Oshawa, Canada

It's normal to be nervous. This surgery is a big deal, but I have read many posts from people saying they are so glad they had it done. Most say they wished they had had it a long time ago. How would you feel if you didn't have it? 

HRRH -Orientation Nov  25, Dr. Sohi Jan 17, RN,SW,Dietician Feb 19, Dr Glazer Mar 5, Dr Sohi March 12. Surgery May 28th

KathC
on 6/2/14 9:24 am

Lol right up to the point they were admitting me I was saying ohhh I don't think I can do this!! the nerves are normal. You will do great!

My second chance... November 15, 2012

Diminishing Dawn
on 6/2/14 9:55 am - Windsor, Canada

Yes it is often referred to as the "two week freak". Keep busy. 

17+ years post op RNY. first year blog here or My LongTimer blog. Tummy Tuck Dr. Matic 2014 -Ohip funded panni Windsor WLS support group.message me anytime!
HW:290 LW:139 RW: 167 CW: 139

Cartysmom
on 6/2/14 10:31 am - Canada