Reconstructive surgery

hondar
on 6/11/11 10:29 am
Hello everyone.  This is my first time on this board...I didn't know it existed!  I've been reading the posts and think it's great.  I ame 59 years old had my RNY mid January 2011 and have done fantastic.  No problems at all and great weight loss.

This probably sounds crazy, but I am already wondering if reconstructive surgery is something I should be saving for and thinking about.  Specifically my significantly drooped breasts (almost to my waist...seriously) and my excess skin on my tummy.  I'm very fortunate that I haven't noticed a lot of excees skin elsewhere and even the tummy isn't TOO bad.

When I think about reconstructive surgery I wonder if I am too old?  Now I know I'm not technically too old for the surgery, but is it dumb to get additional major surgery like this so "late" in life?  I wouldn't think twice about it if I were in my 20s or even 30s, but I will be in my 60s!

In addition to the RNY, I have had two knee replacements and one knee replacement revision since 2005 and basically i'm tired of surgery and the pain.  I'm also not the type of person who would ever consider a face-lift or anything...even bo-tox!  So why am I thinking about reconstructive surgery for areas nobody except my husband will ever see?  (BTW he's thrilled w/my new look....even w/droopy breasts and excess tummy skin.)

Just wondered if anyone else has thought about or had this type of surgery after RNY.

Judy G.
on 6/11/11 11:43 am - Galion, OH

Hello and WELCOME to OFF!!!! CONGRATS also on your new life!!!