Introduction and Questions

fatfifty
on 10/24/12 2:27 pm
RNY on 12/10/12
 Hi all,

I am so glad to have found this forum. I am 53 and waiting on insurance approval to get my gastic bypass.  I have all the associated diseaeses; Type II diabetes, hypothyroidism,  sleep apnea, GERD, DJD (four bulging disc in my back), arthritis, high cholestrol and triglycerides; I really need to get it done.  

I am terrified! 

I am just getting started and will see the nutritionist next Monday, and will begin the pre-op diet soon. There is also a support group that I will probably join soon, but I forgot to get the details on that and will call tomorrow. In the meantime, I am trying to find someone who had the surgery long enough ago to talk about those years after the initial weight loss, how hard it is to keep it off, how hungry you feel. I guess I need to hear about success stories that have lasted past the early thrill of the easier weight loss.  

It seems like all I can find are people that did great in the beginning, but then gained back a lot of it or had near-death complication, or just quit telling their story. 

So if anyone can share their success stories or point me to success stories that have lasted through the years, I would be mighty grateful!

Thanks so much to all for listening and for any "good stuff" you can share with me.

Desperate in MO

Connie D.
on 10/25/12 12:50 am
Good morning and welcome to OFF.....this really is one of the best forums on OH !!!

We always welcome new members and try to be as helpful as possible. We genuinely care about each other and are very supportive. I hope you stick around and join us on our daily thread. Ask anything you want. Nothing is too silly to ask.