How do I gain weight?? 24 wks along. Also question about glucose tolerance test.

bittybabynurse
on 9/6/12 3:54 pm, edited 9/5/12 8:57 pm - MN
Hi, I haven't been on the board for quite awhile, I'm 24 weeks and things have been blessedly uneventful. We found out that we're having another girl!! Things have been going pretty smoothly for the most part. (For what its worth I'm 14 mos post RNY, down 100+ lbs from surgery weight when I got pregnant and up 2lbs since then.) I am seeing a high risk OB/GYN who is also the chief of the OB/GYN department. My surgeon suggested I see her and since I'm a NICU nurse at this same hospital, I know her and how good she is. I couldn't possibly be in better hands.

When I saw my doc a few weeks ago she told me that she wanted to see me gain weight, since I hadn't to that point. I've been trying, mostly by eating more of the same things - like eating chicken breast for supper and then an hour later eating more chicken and so on. I also try to add in a protein bar, or just a regular granola bar if I don't want anything super "dense" to eat, at least once a day. I just don't know what else to try, I would love some advice, suggestions, anything really! I have an appt scheduled with a nutritionist but its not until October 10th. The scheduler is working to get me in sooner (perks of being an employee in the same hospital) and is going to check with my surgeon to see if he wants to see me too.

I had my last ultrasound at 20 wks and baby was pretty much growing right on target - I think she was measuring a few days behind, but I know that's nothing to worry about. I just want to make sure she stays growing well and I don't end up with any nutrient deficiencies.