RNY revision to more extensive RNY. ANY EXPERIENCES?

Jory M.
on 5/6/10 4:05 am - Halifax, MA
 Hi, This is my first time posting...
I found out during my 6 year RNY anniversary that my surgeon is recommending a revision. She told me I was a candidate last year, but I wanted to try to just deal with it with sheer willpower. The problem is that it is a "mechanical failure" so willpower is powerless. I just didn't want to go through another surgery. I've been steadily gaining, and getting progressively more discouraged, so if my insurance covers it, I'll be having it done mid June. It is much more extensive that I had realized. This is how I understand it...

Create a new smaller pouch and stoma, shorten the channel so I will have greater malabsorption, and remove about 1/2 of my upper stomach. This is the area that creates the hunger hormones. She will leave a tube, that will be exposed for about 3 weeks. This will be used as a feeding tube if there are any complications. (That part gives me the creeps) I guess this mechanical failure is pretty uncommon, but it does happen.

DOES ANYONE HAVE ANY EXPERIENCE OR KNOWLEDGE OF THIS TYPE OF REVISION?

I know it is a more lengthy surgery and carries more risks, but I have great confidence in my surgeon. Still I feel a bit ill when I think of the months ahead... Honestly, I should be grateful that I can still have help getting the weigh off, since it is really bad for my osteoarthritis.

Upcoming revision date is June 14th.
Highest: 268. Lowest 168. Currently: 194

Hangin' in with my claws,

Jory
Debbie M.
on 5/6/10 5:10 am, edited 5/6/10 5:16 am
Hi Jory,