Considering revision, need advice

Jennifer M.
on 6/22/14 9:51 am - Duarte, CA

Hello everyone!

It's been a long time since I've been here, but now I could use some advice, and I know this is the best place to go!

I had my DS with Dr. Anthone at USC in May 2003.  I had no complications, did very well, and went from around 420 to a stable low of 205-210.  But after several injuries (knee, back and hip, and more recently, foot and ankle) I have basically stopped all forms of exercise - and gotten back into bad eating habits (carbs, carbs, carbs).  So, over the last 4-5 years, I have gained back 100 lbs. - and I am completely horrified, depressed and angry with myself, because I swore I would never get this big again.

My orthopedic surgeon will not do surgery on my bac****il I get down to around 250, and I'm sure losing weight would help with my knee/foot/ankle too.  My PCP suggested it, because I have been doing a very low carb diet for the past 3-4 months and have only lost about 15 lbs.

So...where do I start?  I'm in Southern California - are there any good revision surgeons down here?

Any help/advice would be appreciated!

Jennifer

Zee Starrlite
on 6/23/14 1:45 am

Wow!  I totally get the movement issues with injuries/pain or whatever.  The thing is you got the biggest and best WLS already!  You had a great surgeon!  Would it really be worth it to tighten your sleeve (dangerous) and shorten your common channel (more chance of deficiency issues and more) when you know that you are/were doing absolutely everything to have a 100lb weight gain in the first place.  Carbs, carbs, carbs that is a NO, NO, NO and they must make you feel awful too - so you punished yourself.  Why do we do that!