Revision Band-to-Sleeve, worried about time off

la_maestra
on 9/12/15 8:12 pm - AZ

Hi there!

I had the lap band in 2011, lost 85 lbs, then had to have it unfilled two years later due to lots of issues with which y'all are already familiar (you've been there, you know). So my insurance FINALLY approved a band-to-sleeve revision.  But here's my question: 

I am a teacher. It's very difficult for me to be out one day due to illness, let alone several days due to surgery. We have no breaks scheduled between now and Thanksgiving, and I don't know that I want to wait until Thanksgiving week to do all of this. So, how much time do you all suggest I take off? Will I be ok to teach if I sit while teaching? 

Thanks for all your suggestions and advice in advance. 
La_Maestra

amaral1407
on 9/13/15 12:24 am - WA

HelloI just had my revision from lapband to sleeve.  I had alot of scar tissue so surgery ended up taking over 3 hours.  I ended up staying home for work for 3 weeks, it has been the 2 weeks and I can say I definitely need the extra week I ended prior to surgery  iron infusions for a week, b12 injections  and a prescription of vitamin d (this was all due to lapband), which could have caused me not recovering quickly.  Good luck once you are recovered I am sure you will Love it.  it has been great so far never hungry have lost 10 pounds in the two weeks.  Keep in touch

losing_the_band
on 9/14/15 12:19 am
Revision on 08/27/15

I'm about 2.5 weeks out from my band-to-bypass revision, and I'm glad I took 3 weeks off work.  I work a desk job, though, so I probably could have come back a few days ago.  The pain from the port removal hung on longer than I thought it would, so I couldn't imagine taking less than 3 weeks off if you've got a job where you're going to be active most of the day. 

Lap-Band 2007

Lap-Band Replaced 2011

APPROVED for revision to RNY! Awaiting surgery date!

Lisa09
on 9/17/15 7:46 pm - NH