Lap Band to Sleeve Revision plus gallbladder removal

LMillz
on 9/13/17 12:53 pm
Revision on 11/14/17

Hi all!

I was hoping to get some feedback on a few things. I got a lap band in 2007 at age 18 and 215lbs. Now, 10 years later, I'm at 170-180 give or take (the lowest I ever got was 140), and have decided to revise to the sleeve.

My doctor noticed that a lot of my band complications could be from gallstones, and sure enough! I had plenty. My revision surgery will also include the removal of my gallbladder so... big day!

My questions are pretty simple:

1.) How long realistically should I expect to be away from work? I have a very sedentary desk job and don't have to move much at all throughout the day

2.) I work in marketing for a beer company. Is it possible to drink beer after a sleeve? I'm getting conflicting reports based on what I've read... is the carbonation really too tough to take? I'm not talking drinking 12 beers in a night, I'm wondering more like one beer at a work event a few times a year.

3.) I have a lower BMI, so insurance will not be covering this. Has anyone else with a lower BMI done a revision? For what reasons?

Thanks in advance for all your help!

Storm501
on 9/17/17 9:34 am

I can not answer all but can give my 2 cents from my own experiences on a couple of your questions.

1) AT the time of my sleeve in 2013, my work required me to be 100% before returning to work, there was no 75% or 50%, but my job was part-time desk work and field work, requiring to lift up to 75lbs. So my time off was 6 wks. before returning to work.