vitamins

Raynae S.
on 8/30/11 10:44 pm - PA
 I cant find gummy or liquid multi vitamins with iron anywhere.  Can I take a multi vitamin and then buy liquid iron?  How much iron do I need daily?  I am having surgery on Friday and I want all my supplies at home for when I get out of hospital.  Thanks!

Mia H.
on 8/30/11 11:20 pm - OH
 You can take centrum chewables.  The regular kind has iron in it.  

Sharyn S.
on 8/30/11 11:22 pm - Bastrop, TX
RNY on 08/19/04 with
That's because gummy vites are made for children and children don't typically need iron.

PLEASE use an adult vitamin.

Sharyn, RN

RIP, MOM ~ 5/31/1944 - 5/11/2010
RIP, DADDY ~ 9/2/1934 - 1/25/2012

poet_kelly
on 8/31/11 2:00 am - OH
Gummies are missing a lot of other things kids do need, though, like many of the B vitamines.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Raynae S.
on 8/30/11 11:53 pm - PA
 I have found gummy adult vitamins at Walmart but they didnt have iron in them.  I will check out the Centrum.  Thanks!

poet_kelly
on 8/31/11 1:59 am - OH
Don't take gummy vitamins.  They are missing all kinds of things we need, not just iron.

Yeah, you can take a multi with no iron and then take iron separately.  Lots of us do that.

The ASMBS says menstruating women need 54-63 mg iron a day.  Others need 36 mg.  Unless your labs indicate you need more, of course.

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Samantha L.
on 8/31/11 2:14 am - Petaluma, CA
Kelly,