Malabsorption with RNY?

poet_kelly
on 10/6/11 12:31 pm - OH
My surgeon said that we did malabsorb calories for a year or two post op.  He also said some other stuff that I know was just plain wrong, like telling me drinking soda would stretch the pouch, so maybe he was wrong about the malabsorption, too.

I know that I did malabsorb fats and still do.  Um, I can tell when I poop.  I'll refrain from giving details (unless anyone wants a detailed description of my poop).

It seems obvious to me that some people malabsorb protein a lot after RNY, because they have to take in a very large amount of protein in order for the total protein level to be good when they get  labs done.

Since fats and protein are macronutrients, it seems to me that if we malabsorb those, we could also be malabsorbing calories.  I don't know if that's correct, it just makes sense in my head.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

YankeeRose
on 10/6/11 2:13 pm - Meadville, PA
"I know that I did malabsorb fats and still do.  Um, I can tell when I poop.  I'll refrain from giving details (unless anyone wants a detailed description of my poop)."

Kelly, you crack me up! That made my night! LOL

Tammy
Luck 'o the Irish
HW399/SW362/CW219/GW130
*37 lbs were lost pre-op

poet_kelly
on 10/6/11 2:18 pm - OH
Hey, I'm just telling it like it is.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

YankeeRose