Gastric bypass cuts death risk: study

fran_pa
on 1/3/12 5:28 am - PA
poet_kelly
on 1/3/12 5:41 am - OH
Thanks for posting this.  That's interesting.  They found that gastric bypass patients were less likely to have heart attackes, strokes or even develop cancer, AND that weight loss alone did not seem to account for the decreased risk of those conditions.  I wonder if our increased emphasis on nutrition and all our supplementation accounts for at least some of that?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

fran_pa
on 1/3/12 5:52 am - PA
That was the most interesting part for me... kind of like it fixes diabetes and high blood pressure.  Yes, it would be kind of nice to know our added efforts and positive choices lead to some of our gained healthiness.  Unfortunately that would probably require a long-term study in which there were a group of RNY'ers who did not take supplements vesus are group that does, and I just don't want to go there.

A side note:
As I keep looking back at this (I'm not sure why), I wonder how many times I might have been the token "fat person" in pictures with articles like this.  I remember once finding myself on the evening news after being at a local ice arena skating (this time of year after New Years), and they showed me on the ice and made the comment "People of all shapes and sizes can find ways to exercise."  There went my effort that year :-)  At least they didn't show faces in this one. 
nfarris79
on 1/3/12 5:55 am - Germantown, MD